Follow by Email

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Contest Reminder!

If you wish to be in the drawing to win a signed copy of Sing Me To Sleep by Angela Morrison the days are running out! I'll be drawing a winner at midnight on March 4 so be sure and enter before that time. :)





This is just a quick reminder guys that if you haven't put in your entry you should go here and do so!

Also, if you would like to see my review for Sing Me to Sleep click here. :)

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Author Interviews: Jenny Moss Edition

*Today we have with us Jenny Moss the author of the upcoming release Shadow (!) which is full of castly intrigue, adventure, dark secrets, and a smackling of love. :)

C: What gave you the idea for Shadow?

J: I'd read the book THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL by Philippa Gregory and loved all the castle intrigue. So I wanted to have fun with my own story.

C: Why did you choose the setting?

J: Creating my own kingdom appealed to me. I got to draw maps. :)

C: What is your writing process like?

J: It changes. For SHADOW, I wrote a skeleton draft and then revised many times.

C: Favorite Music?

J: I'm in awe of Bob Dylan, but enjoy different artists. The last CD I bought was one of Austin musician Ginger Leigh's.

C: Movies?

J: I love movies. The ones I rewatch the most: PERSUASION, SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE, NOTTING HILL

C: When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

J: I can't remember a time when I didn't want to be a writer.

C: How long did it take you to write Shadow?

J: I was working on two books at the same time. It took me about 2.5 years to finish both of them.

C: What is your favorite book?

J: The book I most admire is BELOVED by Toni Morrison.

C: What is one of your most embarrasing moments?

J: I came home from work one day with a huge split in the back of my pants, which I didn't realize until I changed out of my work clothes.

C: If you could have any guest over for dinner, dead or alive, who would it be?

J: I'd be very nervous, but Bob Dylan.

C: What would you consider to be the hardest thing about writing?

J: Deadlines. Because I have an April 1st deadline for a manuscript right now. :)

C: The easiest?

J: Finding the characters.

C: Which of your characters do you feel is most like you?

J: My daughter tells me she sees similarities between me and Winnie in WINNIE'S WAR, my first book. I don't see it as much.

C: What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?

J: To go beyond that first draft - and to really have fun with the process.

*Thank you so much Jenny for the awesome interview and everyone be sure to check out my review for Shadow!
http://books-are-life-reviews.blogspot.com/2010/03/shadow-by-jenny-moss_09.html

Friday, March 26, 2010

A Spy in the House by: Y.S. Lee

A Spy in The House
by: Y.S. Lee
It is May 1858, the beginning of London’s “Great Stink” — a blend of river pollution and heat wave that paralyzes the city. Tucked in the attic of a nondescript girls’ boarding school is the Agency, an intelligence service with a difference: it’s an elite, all-female group of private investigators with a reputation for getting things done. And it’s just hired a hotheaded, 17-year-old ex-thief whose on-the-job training goes completely wrong…
New agent Mary Quinn’s task is to pose as a lady’s companion and observe a merchant suspected of smuggling. But this straightforward assignment goes awry when Mary gets impatient and exceeds her mandate. Almost immediately, she finds competition in the shape of James Easton, an arrogant young man who’s doing some snooping of his own. They first tangle — literally — in a closet.
When pressed, Mary reluctantly joins forces with James. But as useful as the partnership may be, it’s also dangerous: their mutual attraction threatens to distract them from the real secrets of the merchant’s household. Eventually, they reveal a plot that threatens James’s life, as well as Mary’s own dark secrets…

Review:
As soon as I saw this book and read the summary I knew I would love it. I love the Victorian era and just historical fiction in general, but this idea for a Victorian mystery involving a young woman during the time of the Great Stink just instantly made me smile.

I loved this book, and can't express enough how excited I am there's still more and it is a series.
From the very beginning the book is addicting, it skips over the "boring parts" and goes straight for the fun scenes involving the actual problem solving and her fun banter with James. Each character brings something else to the table, some of them are relatively stereotypical but then they surprise you, but they each bring something else to the dynamic of the story and in true mystery form little things a character does or says shows their character and forms whatever secrets they may be hiding.

My favorite part of this book was any scene with James - I love the classic leading men such as Mr. Darcy, Gilbert Blythe, and Rhett Butler, and James is definitely one of my new literary crushes. He reminded me of each of my favorite leading men in some way, which of course just made me love him more.

I loved how well Mary and James played off each other, the dialogue was amazing and felt natural. I have read many books where the dialogue just fell flat and would leave me saying,"They would never have said that," but A Spy in the House never made me feel like this.
I felt like by reading it I was really spying them from around a corner somewhere, like they were really arguing or laughing for whatever reason and I wanted to be a part of it - I love that feeling.

I was hooked on this book from the moment I opened it and I feel like it could be a book for anyone who just wants to smile and get away for awhile and solve a nice mystery along the way, but you won't figure out the ending... believe me... I tried.

I give it a 10/10.

-Christina

*Also, sorry this review is so late, we've had some family difficulties lately but hopefully it will be settled soon. :)

Friday, March 19, 2010

Lack of Posts...

Sorry guys for the lack of posts recently, my father has been in the hospital and I haven't been home hardly at all, but hopefully this upcoming week I will be able to post all the reviews I've been meaning to, plus I finished quite a few books while in the hospital as well.

So look forward to that and I hope to speak with you soon. :D

Thanks guys!

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Sing Me To Sleep by: Angela Morrison

Sing Me To Sleep
by: Angela Morrison

THE TRANSFORMATION
Beth has always been “The Beast”—that’s what everyone at school calls her because of her awkward height, facial scars, and thick glasses. Beth’s only friend is geeky, golden-haired Scott. That is, until she’s selected to be her choir’s soprano soloist, and receives the makeover that will change her life forever.
THE LOVE AFFAIR
When Beth’s choir travels to Switzerland, she meets Derek: pale, brooding, totally dreamy. Derek’s untethered passion—for music, and for Beth—leaves her breathless. Because in Derek’s eyes? She’s not The Beast, she’s The Beauty.
THE IMPOSSIBLE CHOICE
When Beth comes home, Scott, her best friend in the world, makes a confession that leaves her completely torn. Should she stand by sweet, steady Scott or follow the dangerous, intense new feelings she has for Derek?
THE HEARTBREAK
The closer Beth gets to Derek, the further away he seems. Then Beth discovers that Derek’s been hiding a dark secret from her …one that could shatter everything.

Review:

So this is the review where my heart breaks just a little. I've been thinking about this book constantly since I read it, I've been gushing to my friends, gushing to my father, and just going crazy gushing to everyone about how amazing it was, but since reading it I have been unable to get it off my mind.

I read it in about 7 hours, it was in one complete sitting and I stayed up until 5 in the morning finishing it which wasn't good for my school schedule, but was completely worth it. I just loved it.
I think the main thing I've been thinking and telling people is just these three words over and over again, It felt real. That's what really got me while reading it, and which caused me to bawl my eyes out for fifteen minutes when it was over. It just felt real.

The relationship between Derek and Beth starts really before they even meet each other. I felt the intensity along with them and it was amazing. It kept me reading through everything, never did I even consider stopping.

I really liked Scott, and I understood him as 'the best friend' everything he did was in his character and it just worked for him.

I've never had such an emotional tie to a book before, when Derek's secret comes out I felt like it was happening to me. I've never just full out cried because of a book before, and even now I'm constantly telling myself,"It's just a book, this didn't really happen" but it's not working really.

I have a feeling this story and this book will stay with me for a very long while.

I would recommend it to everyone, just read it.

10/10

-Christina
P.S. I forgot to my mention my horrifying most embarrassing moment EVER. Well, I was in a very serious competitive Girls Choir (we rocked... or choraled?) we were quite good.

So we were at this amazing event with over 500 people in the audience and we were dressed up and it came to the final number, now anyone who has ever been in a choir knows, or should know to NEVER lock your knees - I knew this, but the girl next to me apparently did not.

We were singing our big finale, Edelweiss which can be emotional and that's what we were going for, when the girl beside me throws up right at our feet. It was quite similar to the Exorcist really and I was horrified. She collapsed after throwing up and I had to stand there, in my brand new pretty shoes with throw up all over everything, finish the song and wait for the curtain call.

Our director obviously saw what happened (as did half the audience) but there was nothing we could do. We had three more separate numbers after this incident and I had to go clean up as much as I could and then go back out there. Horrible, horrible experience - it even tops the time I fell during a Christmas show (it was at a local mall so it was less horrifyingly embarrassing.)

But, the moral of this story is - NEVER lock your knees during a performance, just think of the poor unsuspecting girl beside you.
:)

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Author Interview: Angela Morrison Edition.

Today I was lucky enough to have an interview with Angela Morrison, the author of Taken By Storm, and the newly released Sing Me To Sleep (which is amazing!) Here it is, enjoy!

What inspired you to write Sing Me to Sleep?
My daughter sang with a competitive girls' choir when we lived in London, Ontario--the Junior Amabile Singers. I always wanted to write a novel set in that unique environment, but I never had a strong story to go with it. When Razorbill decided to hold off on publishing TAKEN BY STORM's sequel, I had the opportunity to go back to that idea. And something heartbreaking had happened to one of my daughter's best friends in Amabile's world-famous Young Men's Ensemble--that gave me a story that would be important to me, my daughter, that young man's family, and so, so many other people. SING ME TO SLEEP took hold of me and didn't let go.

What is your writing process like?
When I write a novel, it feels like a giant wave has hit my life. It takes all the bits and pieces of life and books, curiosities and imaginings, movies and music stored up in my brain, and breaks it into tiny shards. As the wave retreats, those pieces are strewn haphazard all over the beach. It's my job to pick up the pieces and fashion a story mosaic. I ask my self, "what if" and "what will happen next" a lot. When I find the voice of my characters, I hide away and scribble as fast as I can.

What are your perfect writing conditions?
I'm drowsy, just waking up. My brain is still in dream mode. The house is silent. I pick up my lap desk, a sheaf of blank pink pages, and a fresh black Zebra gel pen and scribble away for hours. Ahhh. Dream come true. Those days are lovely, but so rare.

What is your favorite book?
WAR AND PEACE--it is the most beautiful love story I've ever read.

When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?
I've been a writer since first grade. Haven't you? Seriously, that is when I decided I wanted to tell stories and write books. I've been in love with writing all my life.

If you could invite anyone to dinner, dead or alive, who would it be?
Derek--from Sing me to Sleep. You have to read the book to find out why.

What music would you consider to be your favorite?
I love so many types of music. Right now I'm overflowing with excitement from getting to hear the Amabile Choirs sing again. Their festival was AMAZING. And they even sang, "Beth's Song," for me. Well, me and the 1300 fans packed in the concert hall. "Beth's Song" will be available on iTunes ANY DAY NOW!! I'll let you know when it finally happens.

What about movies?
I'm a Jane Austen freak--so anything based on one of her novels.

What do you find the hardest thing about writing?
first drafts

The easiest?
Revising!

What authors have inspired you and your writing?
Louisa Mae Alcott was my childhood hero. When I worked on my MFA, I studied Katherine Paterson. The wisdom just rolls off her pen. I'm so excited to see she's the National Children's Book Ambassador--or something like that. Ron Koertge, my first advisor at Vermont College, taught me to write poetry and YA novels. Somehow I mixed the two. He's got a new poetry novel out, SHAKESPEARE MAKES THE PLAYOFFS that's getting great reviews. The man is a genius. Most recently, Markus Zusak had a huge impact on me. Another genius. And the quiet graciousness of Susan Fletcher's prose and advice still inspires me.

What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?
I spent all last week speaking at high schools in and around London, Ontario--where SING ME TO SLEEP is set. Young people, like writers, need to know that it is okay to fail. All first drafts are horrible. Revise, revise, revise. Send it out. Get rejected. Work with trusted critiquers. Send it out again. Get rejected lots more. Go back to school. Qualify yourself. (I HIGHLY recommend Vermont College of the Fine Art's!) You only ever really fail if you give up and put it in a drawer.

I have finished Sing Me To Sleep and OHMYGOODNESSS!
I was in a girls choir VERY similar to the one portrayed in the book, I found myself laughing at the things I could relate to, but... you will find out about exactly what I think in my review - I may even tell you about my most embarrassing moment EVER which happened on stage with 500 people to see. True story, stay tuned, and thank you Angela for the amazing interview. :)


Here's the trailer for Sing Me To Sleep!





Oh and be sure to check out my contest that is running to win a signed copy of Sing Me To Sleep!

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Shadow by: Jenny Moss

Shadow
by: Jenny Moss

In a time of kings, queens, and conspiracy, it's impossible to know whom one can trust. . . .


In a kingdom far away and long ago, it was prophesied at her birth that the queen would die before her sixteenth birthday. So Shadow, an orphan girl the same age as the young queen, was given the duty to watch her every move. And as prophesies do tend to come true, the queen is poisoned days before her birthday. When the castle is thrown into chaos, Shadow escapes with a young knight, whom she believes was betrothed to the queen.
Unsure of why she is following Sir Kenway, but determined to escape as far as possible from the castle, her long-time prison, Shadow sets off on an adventure with the handsome knight who has been charged with protecting her. As mystery builds, and romantic tension does, too, Shadow begins to wonder what her role in the kingdom truly is. Soon, she learns, it is up to her to save her land.

Review:

I am a fantasy fan, I can't explain it but it has something to do with my childhood dreams of secretly being a princess, but since those days stories like this one have made me unbelievably happy.

I love the character of Shadow and the plot and all of the subplots. I never knew what to expect and it constantly took me by surprise.

I found Sir Kenway to be quite amazing really, some of the conversations between him and Shadow made me laugh and I felt emotion which is always the most important thing when I read a book.

I felt all of it made sense as well which sometimes fantasy does take imaginative leaps that are hard for me to accept, sometimes things just happen that leave me saying, "Really now? How convenient..." but with Shadow I never got that feeling. Everything had a purpose and everything was believable.

Moss did an awesome job at creating this world, and this story. It reminds me of Graceling actually which is a huge compliment as I adore Graceling. That's the feeling I got while reading it, just with the way she created the world. The plot was completely different and the characters as well, but they were both obviously very well thought out.

I would recommend this books to fantasy fans, or those who are looking for a nice sweet romance.

It will be available April 1!

-Christina

Monday, March 8, 2010

Three Column Template... What?!


Finally, I have been trying to make this blog switch from two columns to three for a year now but thanks to the amazing Laina at Laina Has Too Much Spare Time one of my goals in life has been accomplished, (ha I bet you think I'm kidding...)

Isn't it pretty? The sad part is I did have to get rid of my header as it wasn't working very well, but I'd also had it for quite a while so it's time for change.

Perhaps I'll so something completely unlike myself and daring... or perhaps I'll just toy around with this for awhile.

What do you guys thing about the new template?

Saturday, March 6, 2010

In My Mailbox [4]

In My Mailbox [4]
In my mailbox is a post exploring the contents of book related things I got in the past week, it is hosted by Kristi, The Story Siren and inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie.



The Iron King
by: Julie Kagawa


Meghan Chase has a secret destiny—one she could never have imagined…
Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school…or at home.
When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.
But she could never have guessed the truth—that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face…and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

*I've started this one because it does sound amazing, and the writing is good and I like it but I just don't think I like Faerys, I don't know why. I don't understand it. haha.



Beauty

by: Robin Mckinley

Beauty has never liked her nickname. She is thin and awkward; it is her two sisters who are beautiful. But what she lacks in looks she can perhaps make up for in courage. When her father comes home with the tale of an enchanted castle in the forest and the terrible promise he had to make to the Beast who lives there, Beauty declares she must go to the castle, a prisoner of her own free will.

*I've wanted this book for years, I didn't like the hero and the Crown by Robin Mckinley, but Beauty and the Beast is my favorite fairy tale so I have much hope for this.

Siren
by: Tricia Rayburn

Seventeen-year-old Vanessa Sands is afraid of everything—the dark, heights, the ocean—but her fearless older sister, Justine, has always been there to coach her through every challenge. That is, until Justine goes cliff-diving one night near the family’s vacation house in Maine, and her lifeless body washes up on shore the next day.
Though her parents hope that they’ll be able to find closure back in Boston, Vanessa can’t help feeling that her sister’s death wasn’t an accident. After discovering that Justine was keeping a lot of secrets, Vanessa returns to Winter Harbor, hoping that Justine’s boyfriend might know more. But Caleb has been missing since Justine’s death.
Soon, it’s not just Vanessa who’s afraid. All of Winter Harbor is abuzz with anxiety when another body washes ashore, and panic sets in when the small town becomes host to a strong of fatal, water-related accidents in which all the victims are found, horrifically, grinning from ear to ear.
Vanessa turns to Caleb’s brother, Simon, for help, and begins to find herself drawn to him. As the pair tries to understand the sudden rash of creepy drownings, Vanessa uncovers a secret that threatens her new romance—and will change her life forever.

*I LOVE the sound of this book, it looks absolutely amazing. I cant wait to read it!


What did you guys get this week?

Friday, March 5, 2010

Mia the Magnificent by: Eileen Bogess

Mia the Magnificent
by: Eileen Boggess


After one summer at the Little Tykes Theatre, Mia Fullerton is meek no more, but that doesn t make her life any easier not in her sophomore year at St. Hilary's, when her best friend Lisa forces her into a dangerously big part in The Music Man. Not when her ex-boyfriend, Tim, is teaching her little brother Chris to treat women like objects. And not when she learns to drive with serious repercussions. Who is Mia? Is she an independent girl like Zoë, her acerbic goth friend from Little Tykes? She d like to be that s why she's volunteering to be onstage for the first time, in a show populated by her first ex and childhood crush Jake, her arch-nemesis Cassie, and new girl in town Alyssa. That s why it's so important she overcome the bizarre driving instruction of St. Hilary's janitor Mr. Corrigan to earn her driver s license, and therefore her freedom. Or is she the girl who misses Tim, even after the way he betrayed her? Tim is smart, funny, and likeable in a distinctly obnoxious way, and he s determined to win Mia back even if he has a funny way of doing so, dating both Cassie and Alyssa at the same time, behind both their backs. Can Mia forgive Tim? Should she instead choose Eric, Zoë s cousin, a nicer and more respectful choice in every way? Or would either choice defeat her goals of independence? And when the worst-case scenarios rear their heads when Mia is forced into the lead in The Music Man, when her first night out on the road goes horribly, when Chris appears headed entirely to the dark side does Mia on her own have what it takes to set things right?

From Me:

When I started this book I wasn't sure what to expect, from the cover I thought it was definitely a middle grade book so I wasn't sure how I would like it as I haven't read a middle grade book since probably elementary school. I wasn't sure if I would still enjoy them, but I was pleasantly surprised.

I like the idea of the theater changing her - I've always been one who found the arts and fun things helpful in getting out there.

This book very much so reminded me of my middle school/early high school years. I suffered from a disease called confusion and I'm not saying Mia suffers from this but I feel like everyone at this age is confused to some degree about life and just the way the world seems to work.

Early high school is really the first taste of the world in some ways as Elementary school you're still a kid, and you act like a kid, and Middle school is full of the awkward growing into yourself years. Early high school however is full of you beginning to become yourself and that's what I really enjoyed being reminded of in this book.

I would recommend it to you if perhaps you have a younger brother or sister, or if you just want to relive that part of your life and have some fun along the way.

-Christina

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Contest! [2] Win a Signed Copy of Sing Me to Sleep by: Angela Morrison!

Now, in honor of Sing Me to Sleep hitting shelves today I'm announcing my contest to win a signed hardback copy of Sing Me to Sleep by: Angela Morrison!

Here's the summary:

THE TRANSFORMATION

Beth has always been “The Beast”—that’s what everyone at school calls her because of her awkward height, facial scars, and thick glasses. Beth’s only friend is geeky, golden-haired Scott. That is, until she’s selected to be her choir’s soprano soloist, and receives the makeover that will change her life forever.


THE LOVE AFFAIR

When Beth’s choir travels to Switzerland, she meets Derek: pale, brooding, totally dreamy. Derek’s untethered passion—for music, and for Beth—leaves her breathless. Because in Derek’s eyes? She’s not The Beast, she’s The Beauty.

THE IMPOSSIBLE CHOICE

When Beth comes home, Scott, her best friend in the world, makes a confession that leaves her completely torn. Should she stand by sweet, steady Scott or follow the dangerous, intense new feelings she has for Derek?

THE HEARTBREAK

The closer Beth gets to Derek, the further away he seems. Then Beth discovers that Derek’s been hiding a dark secret from her …one that could shatter everything.


Now, here's how you enter...

+1 for commenting on the post.

+2 for Following

+3 if you are already a Follower

+2 if you broadcast this on your blogs sidebar or in a post.

+2 if you broadcast this on a networking site - Twitter, Facebook, etc...

Now, please leave your e-mail and the links for your extra points in the comments. I will add them up, draw randomly and announce the winner in exactly one month on April 4.

Good Luck guys!
Also, if you don't want to put your personal information (like your email) out in a comment just email me the information and I'll count you in. :)

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Author Interviews:Y.S. Lee Edition

Hey guys, today I have Y.S. Lee author of the upcoming book The Agency 1: A Spy in the House with me! I'm already halfway through the book and it's amazing so be sure to check it out when it comes to stores March 9!


What gave you the idea for A Spy in the House?
I’ve always been dissatisfied with way Jane Eyre ends. I don’t admire Rochester and always find that final, “Reader, I married him” very disappointing, especially since Jane’s a rich, decently educated lady by that time. Then I started thinking about other, poorer women of the Victorian era – maybe equally clever and rebellious, but without Jane’s inheritance or education. And their odds were absolutely ghastly. So the Agency novels are partly about imagining an alternative fate for a smart, brave, doomed nobody like Mary Quinn.

Why did you choose the setting?
I did my PhD in Victorian literature and culture, and spent 6 months living in Bloomsbury while researching my dissertation. I fell in love with the city and became obsessed with walking around it early in the morning, when it was quiet. The Victorian city is very much still there! And the Great Stink of 1858 – a season when heat and river pollution became absolutely overwhelming and paralyzed London – was much too tempting to ignore.

What is your writing process like?
Insane. I get an idea and flesh it out. I start to write, then get bogged down. I re-plot things and start again. At the two-thirds mark, I hate everything. I often re-plot the book again, and things go in a rush from there. I need to work on my process!

Favorite Music?
Swoony, complex pop like Rufus Wainwright and Florence and the Machine, or austere classical, like Brahms.

Movies?
I like action flicks – the dumber the better. I can’t explain it.

When did you know you wanted to be a writer?
I think I’ve always wanted to be a writer, but didn’t find the courage to admit it until I was near the end of my PhD. I didn’t want to be a professor and suddenly felt that it was my last chance: I had to write a novel, or else get an academic job. I chose the novel.

How long did it take you to write A Spy in the House?
18 months.

What is your favorite book?
Middlemarch, by George Eliot.

If you could have any guest over for dinner, dead or alive, who would it be?
How about a fictional guest? Lord Peter Wimsey, from Dorothy L. Sayers’s mystery novels.

What would you consider to be the hardest thing about writing?
Self-discipline!

The easiest?
The surge of ideas you get as you’re plotting. It’s such an adrenaline rush.

Which of your characters do you feel is most like you?
This is such a cliché, but there are bits of me in all of them. I don’t think I resemble a single one in general.

What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?
You have to be a reader before you can be a writer.

I love love love A Spy in the House so far and plan on finishing it in the next day. I'm so happy this is a series as I can't imagine giving up these characters yet. Thank you Y.S. Lee for the amazing interview and I can't wait to read the rest of the series!

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Happy Dr. Seuss day!


Dr. Seuss Day!


In honor of Dr. Seuss (and I love Dr. Seuss) here are some of my favorite Dr. Seuss quotes.

“I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I've bought a big bat. I'm all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!” -Dr. Seuss

"Look at me!
Look at me!
Look at me NOW!
It is fun to have fun
But you have to know how."
— Dr. Seuss (The Cat in the Hat)

"So the writer who breeds more words than he needs, is making a chore for the reader who reads." — Dr. Seuss

"Be awesome! Be a book nut!" — Dr. Seuss

"I meant what I said, and I said what I meant. Because an elephant's faithful, 100 percent."
— Dr. Seuss

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happend." — Dr. Seuss

"When he worked,he really worked, but when he played,he really PLAYED." — Dr. Seuss

"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." — Dr. Seuss

"You'll get mixed up, of course, as you already know. You'll get mixed up with many strange birds as you go. So be sure when you step. Step with care and great tact and remember that Life's a Great Balancing Act. Just never forget to be dexterous and deft. And never mix up your right foot with your left." — Dr. Seuss (Oh, the Places You'll Go!)

Monday, March 1, 2010

Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side

Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side
by Beth Fantaskey



The undead can really screw up your senior year ...

Marrying a vampire definitely doesn’t fit into Jessica Packwood’s senior year “get-a-life” plan. But then a bizarre (and incredibly hot) new exchange student named Lucius Vladescu shows up, claiming that Jessica is a Romanian vampire princess by birth—and he’s her long-lost fiancé. Armed with newfound confidence and a copy of Growing Up Undead: A Teen Vampire’s Guide to Dating, Health, and Emotions, Jessica makes a dramatic transition from average American teenager to glam European vampire princess. But when a devious cheerleader sets her sights on Lucius, Jess finds herself fighting to win back her wayward prince, stop a global vampire war—and save Lucius’s soul from eternal destruction.

From Me:

This book reminded me of all of the dreams little girls have when they're eight and nine years old, except with vampires. You know, you day dream that a handsome prince will come tell you you're a princess - it's just what we do. It's a right of passage and I felt reading this book that I was getting a piece of that again.

We had a unsuspecting, and unwilling princess who would rather have the joys of a normal senior year than deal with the vampire world and what they expect from her. I love that she was unwilling, it's different from some books I have read recently where the main character learns this big secret and doesn't seem to suffer at all from the change, this was much more realistic and I loved that aspect.

I didn't know how I felt about Lucius' arogance at first. I know he was royalty and not used to our world but jeez... I felt like I didn't really know Lucius until halfway through the book, but once I did understand him he felt so complex to me.

I like that most of the book was set in America without vampires. I feel like in so many vampire books it's like - "oh you're a vampire, come be apart of us!" and then they wisk you off somewhere. This wasn't the case as Lucius was the only Vampire involved really for most of the book.

If you haven't read this book, I would recommend you read it. I really like Beth Fantaskey's writing style, and Jeckyl Loves Hyde is just as amazing.

I give it an 9.5/10.

-Christina

There was an error in this gadget
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the In the Castle and Story Book Castle by Lorie Davison