Follow by Email

Friday, May 21, 2010

Writers Block...

This is why I love Jackson Pearce. :)

My Reading Habits..

I've been seeing this a lot and it seemed intriguing so here are my reading habits. :)

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack:
No, I can't say I snack while I read. I'm not a big snacker in general, but I just hate losing my place in a book so I feel that looking to grab a snack (I'm quite uncoordinated) would just leave me angry when I can't find the sentence again.

What is your favorite drink while reading?
I LOVE coffee but I never drink it in the morning, partly because when I'm up super early I'm busy doing everything else. A good Coke is always amazing, and sweet tea is perfect for hot summer days (as I enjoy reading outside), but coffee will always be my favorite.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
This is something that surprisingly enough actually angers people about me but yes, I mark in my books all the time and I feel no shame. I feel like I'm getting the full value of the book by marking my favorite parts or underlining amazing quotes, it's just what I do and will continue to do because it's always easy when searching for something and reliving the magic. :)

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
I prefer bookmarks, as dog-ears kind of annoy me. If I am forced to dog-ear though I do the smallest corner you've ever seen. lol

Fiction, non-fiction, or both?
I prefer fiction, but then I also love history so give me a biography on Anne Frank or someone I'm interested in and I'm in heaven.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
I can stop anywhere, it doesn't matter if it's at the end of a chapter or not. I prefer to stop at the top of a page though, just to make it easier.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you?
Yes, but never enough to damage the book, but if the ending is not a good one, or doesn't make sense then I won't like the book anyway.
I'm a sucker for a happy ending. :)

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?
I don't remember the last time I didn't know what a word meant, but no. I would wait and if I couldn't figure it out I'd check google.

What are you currently reading?
Vampire Academy by: Richelle Mead

What is the last book you bought?
Vampire Academy Series by: Richelle Mead

Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?
I can but I don't really enjoy it. I normally end up liking one more than another so I end up devouring it and leaving the other one partially read forever.

Do you have a favorite time/place to read?
Outside late at night or at Panera Bread or a coffee shop.

Do you prefer series books or stand alones?
I like both but it really depends. Stand alones are nice but I also love the depth of the characters you get with series, but also with series things change and you see more time so what you want has more possibility of not working out.

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?
Sarah Dessen - everything by her I LOVE. The Study Series by Maria V. Snyder, Going Too Far by: Jennifer Echols, Graceling by: Kristin Cashore and so many more...

How do you organize your books?
Very carefully. I have a lot of books, I've been building up my library for years so I do it by author, and I'm trying to start doing it by genre but that'll take time as I have made everything fit on it currently and that was no easy task. I have two up to the ceiling book cases that are just jam packed with all that I have acquired over the years and eventually I'll organize them how I want, but for now it'll do.

Monday, May 17, 2010

In My Mailbox [5]

This post is as always hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren :)

Okay so my local Books-A-Million decided to put a ton of books on clearance this week, some hardbacks that had paperbacks coming soon, older paperback designs that are being redone etc. (they had Sarah Dessen books for $2.97) I did a happy dance.

This is what I came away with.


Faithful was not part of the clearance sale sadly, but I had a gift card which took care of it for me.

What did you get this week?

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Any Good Regency Recommendations?


So I'm really in the mood for a good Regency at the moment, and I was wondering if any of you have any good recommendations.


I love Georgette Heyer, and I have of course read Austen but is there anyone else who really masters the Regency era whom I am not aware of?


I'm going crazy trying to find the perfect book... I need you guys' help to keep my sanity.


:)

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

What should I read next?


I just finished reading Nine Rules to Break when Romancing a Rake by Sarah Maclean and it was amazing, and now I'm tentative to start anything else for fear of dissapointment - so I'll let you guys decide...


What should I read next?

(You can blame Nine Rules for the one random romance novel :] )




Alright, I need help.

Comment and let me know your pick :)

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting

The Body Finder
by: Kimberly Derting

From Amazon:
Violet Ambrose is grappling with two major issues: Jay Heaton and her morbid secret ability. While the sixteen-year-old is confused by her new feelings for her best friend since childhood, she is more disturbed by her "power" to sense dead bodies—or at least those that have been murdered. Since she was a little girl, she has felt the echoes the dead leave behind in the world . . . and the imprints that attach to their killers.

Violet has never considered her strange talent to be a gift; it mostly just led her to find dead birds her cat left for her. But now that a serial killer is terrorizing her small town, and the echoes of the local girls he's claimed haunt her daily, Violet realizes she might be the only person who can stop him.

Despite his fierce protectiveness over her, Jay reluctantly agrees to help Violet find the murderer—and Violet is unnerved by her hope that Jay's intentions are much more than friendly. But even as she's falling intensely in love, Violet is getting closer and closer to discovering a killer . . . and becoming his prey herself.

From Me:
Let me start off by saying WOW! I seem to be on an amazing book trend and this book was no exception!

When I first saw this book months and months ago I thought I would love it so it should be no surprise as to how much I did, I just wasn't expecting to find such a good and complex story on so many different levels.

The idea was completely original which is good especially when we see in YA these days these paranormal monster trends that completely drive me nutty. I beg for originality now and The Body Finder gave it to me.

Now one trend this book did have was the two best friends falling in love... and I have absolutely no problem with that. I LOVE those stories and tend to seek them out just because I find them undeniably sweet and just on a different level.

The story of them gradually beginning to kinda sorta like each other is very cute and I couldn't put it down. I was drawn to the story and the characters and cheered when they finally got what they were after.

I am very excited there is a sequel coming out (EEEK!) and can't wait to read more of Kimberly Derting in the future.

All in all this gets a lovely 9 1/2.

-Christina :)

Sunday, May 9, 2010

In My Mailbox [5]

This post is hosted by Kristi A.K.A. The Story Siren :)

This week I got some amazing books, and none of them did I anticipate getting. I had a very as I see it and buy it week where normally I know what I want weeks before I buy something... but this buying spree was more fun. :)

For Review:


Bought:




Thats all I got this week, what did you get?

Thursday, May 6, 2010

I found a four leaf clover!!


I know this is completely and utterly not book related, but we all need a random post every now and then, any way - back to my squealing.


I FOUND A FOUR LEAF CLOVER!

All of my life I have hoped to find one and have never been able to, and now I just happened to look down and spot it. One of my life long goals has been realized and now I just need to wait for my luck to kick in. :)

I got my cap and gown today as well which means in one week I will be graduating high school and moving on and into the "real world" I'm not sure how I feel yet, but right now I'm not terrified which must be a good thing.

On a actual book related note, I have been reading like crazy but just haven't been posting reviews (sorry!) I plan to once school ends and I have my free time back.
Also, I have gotten in the mood to read some classics and I was wondering if you guys were opposed to me reviewing some of them. I've always been a huge Gone With the Wind and Austen fan (them being my favorite books) but I don't know how you guys feel about hearing about them.

Just let me know! Thanks guys.

-Christina

Saturday, May 1, 2010

In My Mailbox [4]

My in My Mailbox post is hosted by Kristi the Story Siren.

I only got one book this week but it was one that I've been wanting ever since reading the first one.

The Agency 2: The Body at the Tower



I loved the first one and I'm so excited to continue Mary and James' story and discover whatcool detective things she gets to do this time!

What did you guys get?

There was an error in this gadget
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the In the Castle and Story Book Castle by Lorie Davison