Follow by Email

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday

Waiting On Wednesday


After her sister Athena's tragic death, it's obvious that grief-stricken Persephone "Phe" Archer no longer belongs in Los Angeles. Hoping to make sense of her sister's sudden demise and the cryptic dreams following it, Phe abandons her bubbly LA life to attend an uptight East Coast preparatory school in Shadow Hills, MA -- a school which her sister mysteriously mentioned in her last diary entry before she died. Once there, Phe quickly realizes that something is deeply amiss in her new town. Not only does Shadow Hills' history boast an unexplained epidemic that decimated hundreds of its citizens in the 1700s, but its modern townies also seem eerily psychic, with the bizarre ability to bend metal. Even Zach -- the gorgeous stranger Phe meets and immediately begins to lust after -- seems as if he is hiding something serious. Phe is determined to get to the bottom of it. The longer she stays there, the more she suspects that her sister's untimely death and her own destiny are intricately linked to those who reside in Shadow Hills.


*I'm salivating for this book! It sounds so good!

What are you guys waiting on?

Monday, June 28, 2010

Author Interview: Jennifer Echols Edition

I have the amazing author Jennifer Echols with me today! I'll be posting my reviews of Endless Summer and Forget You later this week.


What gave you the idea for Forget You?

I had an idea for a novel called No Parking in which a chick wants to go parking with her boyfriend but weird stuff keeps happening to her car. You are glad I thought about that one a little longer, aren’t you? It did seem like something was missing. Then I read a review on trashybooks.com making fun of an old Sweet Valley High book in which the good twin has a wreck, gets amnesia, and starts acting like the evil twin. Yeah, it did sound like a bad book, but there was something about the cheesy amnesia plot that really got under my skin. I LOVE the amnesia plot! So I decided to write my own amnesia book.

Was it always the plan to have a sequel to The Boys Next Door?

I left the door open to write one, but I never thought the publisher would want one. I’m glad they did. I think people who have enjoyed The Boys Next Door will really like Endless Summer!

What is your writing process like?

Right now I’m starting a new book, so I would say my writing process is like CRAP. Getting started is really hard for me. I need to plot everything out to a certain degree, and that’s the most difficult part for me. But once I get going, I’ll write for a few hours a day and really enjoy it.
Favorite Music?

I listen to a little of everything, but at the moment my favorite bands are Incubus and Foo Fighters.

Movies?

In general, they disappoint me! I can’t believe you can sink that much money into a project without taking care to write sympathetic characters and a bulletproof plot! But around New Year’s I really enjoyed Sherlock Holmes and Up in the Air, and I can’t wait to see The Hurt Locker because the Academy Award-winning director, Kathryn Bigelow, also directed one of my all-time favorites, Point Break.

When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

I started writing a lot in fifth grade or so, but I also got very involved in art and music. My first major in college was music, and it wasn’t until I was a sophomore that I switched to English and decided to make a living as a novelist.

How long did it take you to write Forget You?

Three months.

What is your favorite book?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

Forget You and Endless Summer both have release dates close together, did you write them at the same time?

No, I wrote Forget You from September to November 2007, and I wrote Endless Summer from September to October 2009. I write a lot faster than the publishing industry wants to go!

If you could have any guest over for dinner, dead or alive, who would it be?

President Obama.

What would you consider to be the hardest thing about writing?

As I’ve said...getting started! I am deathly afraid of writing myself into a corner, so I need to work everything out beforehand.

The easiest?

The daily grind, just pumping out chapters. I enjoy it so much, and whenever this career gets tough, I remember what fun it is to write, and I count my blessings.

Which of your characters do you feel is most like you?

Definitely Lori in The Boys Next Door and Endless Summer. What a clueless dork! But she’s pretty funny, and she means well.

What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?

RUN AWAY SCREAMING! If you can think of ANYTHING else to do with your life, do that. This business is impossible, and you will never make it. It’s so frustrating. Give up now!
The thing is, the real writers reading this are the ones who are stubborn, who love to write, and who honestly believe that they can be the rare people who make it. Those are the people who really will make it. Nothing I can say will discourage you, so embrace this unfortunate career path you have chosen, and if you major in English, get a minor in something that will allow you to be employed while you’re waiting to be published. Promise me you will do that, okay? And good luck!

Thank You Jennifer for the great interview!

Sunday, June 27, 2010

I'm Tweeting!

And I'm terribly lonely doing it...

I need some friends there to follow, and tweet about so if you have a twitter add me for updates about reviews and what not.
(books are life was taken... go figure.)


I really am quite lonely over there so feel free to join me, plus I really have no idea what I'm doing.
Another link is in the sidebar.
Thanks guys!

In My Mailbox- Week of June 27th.

In My Mailbox

As always this post is hosted by Kristi, The Story Siren.



As You Wish by: Jackson Pearce (Signed!)
Forbidden by: Tabitha Suzuma
Beautiful Creatures by: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl (Signed!)
The Cinderella Society by: Kay Cassidy (Signed!)
What did you get?

Saturday, June 26, 2010

The Difficulties of Writing or HELP


I have been working on and off on this storyline since early 2007, and it was completely different in the beginning, my first draft is absolutely nothing like how I have it now but I can't seem to get started on this rewrite. Granted, it's quite different, almost unrecognizable but this storyline is so much more fun than my last one! I should be excited and rolling with this thing! haha

I was fifteen writing my first draft which was my first novel, I wrote the first 150 pages in a month. I thought I was brilliant and it's just not coming anymore.
I don't know what's wrong with me.

I know the story, I know what I want to happen, and I'm thinking about it constantly I just can't seem to get started. Writing for me right now is sitting in front of my computer staring at a blank word page.

I don't know what to do. I can't even read because of this, I just find myself too busy analyzing how the author made their book work. It's exhausting... I just want to write 2000 words a day. That's all I ask. I'll settle for 1000, even 500!
It's summer and I'm wasting it being pathetic. I need help, and I don't even know on what. Maybe this is extreme writers block? I don't know. I know I can write, I've had three years of it. I just need the creative bug to come up and find me.

If anyone has any writing advice or tips that would be amazing. The thing I'm working on (or not working on...) is fantasy and I'm having a really difficult time on starting. I have my outline and my characters in front of my face. *sigh*

I don't get it. Any help would be much appreciated.

Friday, June 25, 2010

Friday's Finest

Friday's Finest is a new meme hosted by Steff & Justine from A Bookful of Thoughts.

Rules:
~Post a quote that really stuck to you after reading it in a book.
~Make sure it isn't a spoiler!
~If you'd like, expand on what you think it means and why you chose it.


"It's takes awhile for that to work it's way out, so you might as well answer me some questions. How well did you know this guy?"

Inigo didn't much want to answer that, since it might have sounded strange admitting they'd only met once alive, and then to duel to the death. "How do you mean exactly?" he replied.

"Well, for example," Max said, "was he ticklish or not?"

"Ticklish?" Inigo exploded angrily. "Ticklish! Life and death are all around you and you talk ticklish!"


I chose this quote because it is an adequate example of how hilarious this book is. It is not insightful, but it definitely is a lot of fun.

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Author Trip: Jackson Pearce Edition

Okay so I mentioned two days ago that I would be seeing Jackson Pearce and I just got home from one amazing, amazing day.

My Mom took a half a day so she could accompany me on my journey and we had a blast driving down, (aside from getting lost) we took our time and just had fun which is something we never get to do anymore.


We got there four hours early, so we wandered around the city, found a mall and then proceeded to window shop, and meet my fabulous Aunt for dinner before heading back to the bookstore to see Jackson.


Jackson Pearce is just as funny in person as she is on YouTube which is crazy! We were laughing the entire time she was speaking and I can't imagine wanting to be anywhere else then at that book signing. It was just so much fun!


Here are some pictures!

Jackson Pearce!


Myself and Jackson Pearce.


Because it's fun to be silly.



Jackson and I after she signed my copy of Looking For Alaska. Signing other people's books is a to do for her when she becomes a famous author, and I am not one to destroy people's dreams, plus I think it's awesome. Sorry John Green, you're amazing too!


If you haven't read As You Wish, or Sisters Red please go out to your bookstore and get them now! You will not be disapointed.


Also, if you haven't watched any of her YouTube videos you should. They're funny and perfect for anyone wanting to be a writer. Click here to go there.


Thanks guys!

Monday, June 21, 2010

Guess What?!


I got a job at my library!
YES!

Well... so maybe it's not a "job."
And maybe I am "just volunteering," but I will be working with Teens in the teen center and I will be participating in the monthly Advanced Readers program so I am quite pleased.

Besides recently I have been thinking very seriously about becoming a librarian, and I'm in college and need to sort these things out so spending time volunteering in a library will definitely help in that department, and I have dreams.

Dreams that involve books, and authors and me!

Speaking of authors and me. Guess who I am seeing soon?!

Jackson Pearce, author of Sisters Red and As You Wish.

I'm so excited!

I loved Sister's Red and I love Jackson's YouTube channel as she is hilariously funny. So on that note, here are my plans/dreams involving the library and Jackson Pearce.

Jackson Pearce
1. Get my copy of Sister's Red signed.
2. Purchase As You Wish and in turn have that signed.
3. Pictures. Loads of pictures.
4. Laugh
5. Spend some amazing bonding/McDonald's ice cream eating time with my mother.

Library
1. Actually begin checking things out from the library instead of being broke all of the time.
2. Try to direct people to amazingness in book form.
3. Laugh some more.
4. Pay attention to the librarians around me so I may learn their ways.
5. Try to act incredibly awesome so people think book readers are incredibly awesome.
6. Discuss the possibility of having author visits.
7. Discuss the possibility of having a dress as your favorite character day (Hermione is mine!)*

That is all.

Happy reading everyone and I will see you tomorrow!

*I will not actually be attempting this, although I do think dress as your favorite character day should be a world wide thing.

Saturday, June 19, 2010

In My Mailbox- Week of June 20th

In My Mailbox


As always this post is hosted by Kristi, The Story Siren.


Everyone knows about Anne Frank and her life hidden in the secret annex – but what about the boy who was also trapped there with her? In this powerful and gripping novel, Sharon Dogar explores what this might have been like from Peter’s point of view. What was it like to be forced into hiding with Anne Frank, first to hate her and then to find yourself falling in love with her? Especially with your parents and her parents all watching almost everything you do together.

To know you’re being written about in Anne’s diary, day after day? What’s it like to start questioning your religion, wondering why simply being Jewish inspires such hatred and persecution? Or to just sit and wait and watch while others die, and wish you were fighting. As Peter and Anne become closer and closer in their confined quarters, how can they make sense of what they see happening around them? Anne’s diary ends on August 4, 1944, but Peter’s story takes us on, beyond their betrayal and into the Nazi death camps. He details with accuracy, clarity and compassion the reality of day to day survival in Auschwitz – and ultimately the horrific fates of the Annex’s occupants.

*Have I ever mentioned my complete adoration of Anne Frank? Well, I adore Anne Frank and have since the young age of six when my mother first told me about her. My love surpassed that of my mothers, but she will still watch the movies with me whenever I ask her to. I view Anne as one of my hero's and I'm very jealous I didn't think to write this! I'm sooooo excited for this one. You. Have. No. Idea. :D

Friday, June 18, 2010

Friday's Finest

Friday's Finest is a new meme hosted by Steff & Justine from A Bookful of Thoughts.

Rules:
~Post a quote that really stuck to you after reading it in a book.
~Make sure it isn't a spoiler!
~If you'd like, expand on what you think it means and why you chose it.

"It's not that I believe everything happens for a reason," she said. "It's just that... I just think that some things are meant to be broken. Imperfect. Chaotic. It's the universe's way of providing contrast, you know? There have to be a few holes in the road. It's how life is."


I just adore The Truth About Forever in general, it is one of my top three favorite books of all time and this quote really stands out to me because it's such a contrast to what the world normally thinks and wants to believe. People want perfection, not chaos and they don't see the holes in the road for what they are, whether they be learning devices or just low points that make you appreciate the good things.

Without hardships we wouldn't know what joy is.

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

The Queen's Daughter by: Susan Coventry

The Queen's Daughter
by: Susan Coventry


Joan’s mother is Queen Eleanor of Aquitaine, the most beautiful woman in the world. Her father is Henry II, the king of England and a renowned military leader. She loves them both—so what is she to do when she’s forced to choose between them? As her parents’ arguments grow ever more vicious, Joan begins to feel like a political pawn.

When her parents marry her off to the king of Sicily, Joan finds herself stuck with a man ten years her senior. She doesn’t love her husband, and she can’t quite forget her childhood crush, the handsome Lord Raymond.

As Joan grows up, she begins to understand that her parents’ worldview is warped by their political ambitions, and hers, in turn, has been warped by theirs. Is it too late to figure out whom to trust? And, more importantly, whom to love?


Review:

I have alwlays enjoyed historical fiction and this title was no exception. It takes place in the Middle Ages which is something you don't see very often. I have read many books on King Henry the VIII but none on Eleanor of Aquitane or those around her which instantly fascinated me.

Everyone has heard of the beautiful Queen Eleanor of Aquitaine, but I had no idea she had a daughter. Joan is an amazing character and I love her in this book. By following her you see the real hardships that are being a part of a royal family. She just wants to please her family, her mother in particular as any child would, but by being a princess pleasing her family means being used as a pawn in political games.

Raymond was my favorite character from the very beginning. He was sweet and I loved him. I loved how their relationship developed, and did feel sorry for the King of Sicily even while not liking him, but I understood him. I can't imagine living in that time and living as they did. There's so much political tension in this novel, many of it within Joan's own family. I can't imagine living as her at that time.

This is an awesome read for historical fans, or those who just want to get caught up in another time and really in another world. It comes highly recommended.



-Christina

Monday, June 14, 2010

Author Interviews : Susan Coventry Edition

*Today we have with us Susan Coventry the author of the newly released Queen's Daughter! Expect my review of The Queen's Daughter to be up tomorrow.


As the daughter of the famous Eleanor of Aquitaine I have never heard much about Joan, what made you interested in her story?

I'd always been fascinated by Eleanor, but never really gave her daughters much thought. Eleanor and her sons are such larger-than-life figures, they hog all the attention! But then I came across a reference to Joan in a context that had nothing to do with her mother. I was reading about the crusade against the Cathars and Count Raymond of Toulouse when I discovered Raymond was married to Joan. That intrigued me. I wanted to find out how the marriage came about, so I began looking into Joan's story. I became increasingly amazed by all she experienced in her own right. It began to seem unfair that despite her adventurous life she's so little known to us today. Why should such an interesting woman be so invisible? It started me imagining what it would have been like to be a girl in that family--what it would have been like to be Eleanor of Aquitaine's daughter. I thought it was time for Joan to step out of her mother's shadow and star in her own story.

How long did it take you to write The Queen's Daughter?

A long time! That's a tough question because I didn't sit down and write it start to finish. I spent a couple years researching it, writing a few scenes. Then I got serious and wrote a draft. That took about two years, but I kept stopping to do more research when I got stuck. Then I let it sit for at least a year. I finally decided to pull it back out, rewrote it, and set about finding an agent. So, the original idea was born seven or eight years ago, but it hasn't been eight solid years of writing.

Do you have any perfect writing conditions?

Ideally I like to have a solid block of a few uninterrupted hours with my computer and my research notes. I wrote a lot of Queen's Daughter in a coffee shop on my afternoons off from work.

If you could have anybody over for dinner dead or alive who
would it be?


This question is surprisingly easy--my dad. He died rather suddenly several years ago, a couple years before my daughter was born. I'd love for my children and their grandfather to have the chance to spend time together.

What are your favorite books?

I'm sure I'll remember important ones later and kick myself for not including them, but what comes to mind are: Gone With the Wind, Great Maria, The Long Winter from the Little House series, Watership Down, and Dorothy Dunnett's Lymond Chronicles.

Favorite movies?

Casablanca, Charade, What's Eating Gilbert Grape, Broadcast News

If you could live in any time period which would it be?

I love the middle ages, but I doubt I'd thrive in those conditions. I think we live in a uniquely challenging time right now. I choose the present so I can see how we navigate our way into the future.

Did you write any books before The Queen's Daughter?

Nothing publishable! I've written other stories in the process of learning how to write. The Queen's Daughter is my first book.

What is your favorite moment in the writing process?

The best moment is starting chapter four. Beginning a new book with a new idea is a lot of fun and I enjoy researching new ideas. But I don't like writing that opening chapter. I can agonize a long time over chapter one before pushing on to chapter two. Then I debate whether chapter two would make a better chapter one. Chapter three is where I'm deciding if the story is doable or not. If I'm starting chapter four, it means I'm on a roll. I've connected with my protagonist and see where the story is going. I will have to go back and fix those first three chapters, but that doesn't matter--I'm on chapter four.

(^This is now one of my favorite pieces of writing advice - just get to chapter four.)

Can we expect another book from you in the future?

I certainly hope so! My next book is a love story set in Toulouse during the crusade against the Cathars. Historically it begins where The Queen's Daughter ends, but rather than focusing on Raymond and Joan, the protagonists are a young knight who fights to defend Toulouse and the girl he loves but must leave behind.

Is there anything else you would like us to know about you?

For news and updates you can follow my Facebook page: The Queen's Daughter by Susan Coventry or contact me through my website: http://www.susancoventry.com/.


*Thank you Susan for the awesome answers and expect to see my review up tomorrow!

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Why I Love... Gone With the Wind.

Why I Love... Gone With the Wind

This post is just for my amusement. I may do more of them about other things I love, but for now there is just this post and my adoration of Gone With the Wind.

I read Gone With the Wind three years ago when I was fifteen. I had never seen the movie and had always viewed reading the novel as something that was impressive, and big, so I read it. I didn't read it just because no one else my age did and it was an awesome thing to throw into conversations (though that was a perk) but I primarily read it because it was always noted as one of the greatest, if not the greatest American novel, and that was something I wanted to find out about. I had never seen the movie, and I frankly didn't know much past Scarlett and Rhett's names.

If you're going to read Gone With the Wind, having no idea of the story is the way to do it. I had the ability of reading like Margaret Mitchell had intended, before she knew of a movie or of any awards, I read it knowing nothing and it was fantastic.

Michener once said in an interview that Gone With the Wind was, "The shortest long novel I have ever read" and that is very much the case. Yes, the story is about the war, but it's really about the characters and about the struggle that was forced upon them, and greatly the human will to survive.

For instance, I love Scarlett. Throughout the book we watch her go from a ninny of a girl to becoming someone who could take charge and protect not only herself but those around her. She proves on countless occasions throughout the novel that she would do anything to protect the ones she loves. She lives in a time of utter destruction and she still lives with courage and refuses to let anyone break her. She has inner strength that stems past anything that we would have though possible of her to possess in the beginning of her story and that is what is amazing to me. Regardless of her flaws, she has strength and even though at times we hate her and cant stand her decisions, we know that because she is Scarlett she will survive.

Also, one very important thing about Scarlett is her love of her home. Throughout the novel we see her wanting to go to Tara, the idea that home is the best place on Earth is drilled in her head and I think everyone feels that way to some degree. Home is safe.

This type of story goes deep into human feelings. The novel covers so much chaos and destruction you're faced with thinking how would you hold up. Would you take it horribly and complain in the dirt like Scarlett's sisters, or would you be like Scarlett and work the field and learn to take care of your family? It's these questions that make you love this novel as it spans every type of human emotion possible, and leads you to cry your eyes out on one page then laugh the next.

I can't express my love for this novel and it's characters enough. Years after reading my thoughts still wander to Scarlett and Rhett and I still get caught up in their world when I don't mean to. Their story is one full of love, passion, and the very meaning of being human, and it will always be my favorite book.

Everyone who breaths should read this novel at least once.

I leave you with this, one of my favorite passages:


"Somewhere, on the long road that wound through those four years, the girl with her sachet and dancing slippers, had slipped away, and there was left a woman with sharp green eyes, who counted pennies and turned her hands to many menial tasks, a woman to whom nothing was left from the wreckage, except the indestructible red earth on which she stood."

In My Mailbox - Week of June 12th

In My Mailbox
IMM is as always hosted by Kristi, The Story Siren.

This week I only got two new books (I rebought The Truth About Forever and Twilight because I reread books too much which makes them fall apart.)


So, this is what I got.



Audrey, Wait! by: Robin Benway


^ (eh, there's no rule against liking Y.A. and Regency Romances...)

So, what did you get?

Friday, June 11, 2010

Spirit Bound by: Richelle Mead

Spirit Bound
by: Richelle Mead


Dimitri gave Rose the ultimate choice. But she chose wrong...

After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri's birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir's-and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can't wait for their real lives beyond the Academy's iron gates to begin. But Rose's heart still aches for Dimitri, and she knows he's out there, somewhere.

She failed to kill him when she had the chance. And now her worst fears are about to come true. Dimitri has tasted her blood, and now he is hunting her. And this time he won't rest until Rose joins him... forever.

Rating: 10/10

Review:

Spirit Bound starts off a few months after Blood Promise, beginning with the girl's graduation and them leaving the Academy. What I have loved about this series from the beginning is the characters and in this installment you're brought to love and root for them like never before.

Rose is faced with many struggles in this book, namely her less than amazing reputation which could make her ineligible to be Lisa's guardian, and of course some Strigoi who won't leave her alone.

The political interactions in this book increase and we're able to see what life at court is really like. Rose's relationship with Adrian is confusing to her as she still can't seem to fully accept the loss of Dimitri's soul and get over her feelings for him.

This book was amazing, and I'm not sure what to really say that would sum it up better than that. Mead knows her characters and this book was an amazing addition to this series.

I love, love, love her character interactions. They flow well and each of her characters compliment the others in such a way that I feel like I'm spying when I'm reading them and completely end up forgetting I'm reading a book.

It's full of action as Rose still kicks butt and still struggles to protect those she loves, and any lover of the Vampire Academy will be happy with this installment.

The ending is one that will leave you salivating for Last Sacrifice and counting the days until December.

If you haven't read the series yet go get started, once you've started you won't be able to finish.

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Vampire Academy Series by: Richelle Mead Mini Reviews

Since there are so many books in the Vampire Academy series I decided to just do a mini review for the first four books, and then post a real lengthy review for Spirit Bound tomorrow.

Vampire Academy
by: Richelle Mead

I began reading this book because my friend kept telling me just how amazing it was and she knew I would love them, but it was a vampire book. So I was stubborn for a while. Don't get me wrong, I don't hate vampire books at all, I just think they've gotten crazy out of hand recently and I thought it would be the typical vampire book.

But I am pleased to say I was wrong.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVED it.
I think what I really liked about this first book was that Richelle definitely didn't play around. From the very first page action is happening and you're just instantly pulled into it, and it's not just vampires and humans, no, she creates a completely different world.

And Dimitri, *insert swoon here* can I just say that I want one?

It's a fantastic start to a fantastic series. So read it.

Frostbite
by: Richelle Mead

Frostbite picks up exactly where Vampire Academy leaves off which makes for a page turner right from the beginning. The trouble in the last book may be resolved but there are more things to come as Lisa and Rose make it through their school year.

What I like most about Frostbite is how the relationships evolve and change through the book, in particular that of Rose and Dimitri. In this book their relationship takes on a different dimension that was left out of Vampire Academy, one that feels more real and lasting. The jealousy and tension there really hooks you into the feelings and leaves you engulfed in the story.


Shadow Kiss
by: Richelle Mead

I Love Shadow kiss, I really do. I applaud Mead for her effortless story telling and her unpredictability throughout this series, and that really comes shining through in this installment. Rose has grown as a student in this book and she has grown as a future guardian, but still this book really ripped my heart out and threw it in a blender.
I'm glad though, I don't think I'd love these books half as much if I actually knew what to expect. I love how unpredictable they are and I love how Mead has managed to really render me speechless while reading these pages.

The ending is one you don't see coming, but never read ahead and ruin the magic, at least not when were talking about Richelle Mead.

Blood Promise
by: Richelle Mead

What I really love about this installment was it took place outside of the Academy. Rose travels to Russia and adds so many interesting characters to the story. I liked seeing her in this different setting and while I don't want to give anything away this book was different as Rose is away but it's no less amazing.
This book just added so much story through the plot and the journey it takes you on. It amazes me how much Rose has grown throughout the books and you really see what's important to her in this book as she grows as a person.
I didn't want this book to end and it was heart wrenching at times, but the ending kept me guessing and left me salivating for Spirit Bound.

My review of Spirit Bound will be posted tomorrow.
-Christina

Monday, June 7, 2010

In My Mailbox - Week of June 6th

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi, The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie.


This week was more like the past couple weeks combined, here's what I got!



Books :

It's Not Summer Without You by: Jenny Han

Endless Summer by: Jennifer Echols

Sisters Red by: Jackson Pearce

13 To Life by: Shannon Delany

Envy & Rumors by: Anna Godbersen

Frostbite, Shadow Loss, Blood Promise, and Spirit Bound by: Richelle Mead

And Another Thing... by: Eoin Colfer

Everlasting by: Angie Frazier

The Season by: Sarah Maclean

What did you get this week?

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Shiver
by Maggie Stiefvater

Description:

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can't seem to live without. Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human... until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It's her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

Review:

It's been months since I finally broke down and read Shiver and I'm still not sure what to say about it. I had heard so many amazing things about it, but I didn't expect what I found inside the pages.

I don't really like "werewolves" and I'm not sure why, I think it began with Jacob in Twilight (sorry Jacob fans, I like him but am Team Edward all the way) and so I was tentative to read a werewolf book simply because I wasn't the biggest fan, but now I am glad I did.

I loved Shiver, and can't wait to read the rest of this exciting series. The idea I felt was incredibly original, the idea that temperatures had a play in the shifting made it seem more believeable and the emotions that went around with that had me intrigued the entire book.

Grace and Sam were great characters, I felt the connection between them and they played off each other well.

I recommend this to anyone who loves wolves, werewolves, or love.

-Christina

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Alice in Wonderland A Visual Companion

Alice in Wonderland
(A Visual Companion)
by: Mark Salisbury


Think you know the classic story of Alice and her adventures in Wonderland? Think again. Renowned director and producer Tim Burton (The Nightmare Before Christmas, Corpse Bride, James and the Giant Peach, Edward Scissorhands, Beatlejuice, Batman) has applied his signature stamp to this beloved tale, and will be sharing it with audiences in 2010! This splendid "Making/Art of" will take readers to the world behind Burton’s camera, revealing the secrets of performance-capture technology, the marriage of live-action and CGI technology, and displaying its singular style in a deluxe, artistic format.

Rating: 10/10

Review:

This book is beautiful! The first thing I noticed when looking through it was the artwork and the stunning images. There are little surprises throughout the book as well, like the dust jacket that is also the oraculum and the images on the book themselves that are from the movie and from production images that make you smile.

It takes you through the history of Lewis Carroll and his Alice and shows you some of the illustrations in the book and then proceeds to show the "making of images" some of which I really want to copy and hang on my wall due to how pretty they are.

It takes you through the movie brilliantly and shows behind the scene images and production stills that make you smile.

While flipping through this book I'm taken by how much I wish this wonderland was real. The pictures are just so pretty and look so real that it almost pains me that I'll never be able to see it.
This is the perfect table top addition to anyone who loves Alice in Wonderland, or anyone who can appreciate the art that is film making.

There was an error in this gadget
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the In the Castle and Story Book Castle by Lorie Davison