Follow by Email

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Let's Have Some Fun!

I wanted to do something a bit more fun today so I decided to do a book survey! I found this one over at Lori's blog, Pure Imagination, and she found it from The Owl! Enjoy guys!


1. Favorite childhood book?
Because of Winn Dixie, definitely. That book was my favorite forever!

2. What are you reading right now?
Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel (it's awesome!)

3. What books do you have on request at the library?
My library sucks. I don't use it. I was going to volunteer there for a bit... until I realized how sad the selection made me.

4. Bad book habit?
I read ahead. It's a horrible habit but when I just can't take the suspense anymore I start flipping pages and reading passages. Normally I don't see anything that ruins things but sometimes I definitely do.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
Nothing, don't use it. lol

6. Do you have an e-reader?
Nope. :( I want one, but then I know I would need to have the legit book as well but it would make carrying them easier!

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
Always one. If I try to read more than one I get more interested in one and the other sits having 30 pages read of it forever.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Definitely. Before I started blogging reading was purely fun and it still is but now reading is more of a scheduled thing because I have to do it to get my review books in, of course I don't find this an issue because I love to read. That's why I'm here. lol

9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)
I don't fully read books I just can't connect with so I didn't finish it but it was a book a family member gave my by Pat Conroy. It's what I get for accepting non YA books.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
Probably The DUFF by Kody Keplinger. I think about it every day and I never expected that to happen.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
Anything YA is my comfort zone and I don't read outside of it very much anymore. For a period I only read adult books because I felt people saw Teen books as beneath them, then I decided I really didn't care. haha

12. What is your reading comfort zone?
YA, Historical Romances, Paranormal, Classics.

13. Can you read on the bus?
I've never rode the bus in school but I can read in a car, I assume it's the same thing. lol

14. Favorite place to read?
In bed or on a comfy couch.

15. What is your policy on book lending?
I have an issue with lending books but I don't normally voice it. I have a couple friends who like to borrow books from me and I can never say no to them. I just feel it would be mean to do so although secretely I hate doing it.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
Not anymore. I did when I was younger but now I want to keep my books perfect and it pains me to see them not so! (This is part of why lending is an issue for me... most people are not as careful as I am with my books.)

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
I never wrote in margins but I did underline when I had doubles of favorite books, like I have like 3 copies of The Truth About Forever and one of them I underlined my favorite quotes. Makes it easy when I want to make one my Facebook status. :)

18. Not even with text books?
No. The text book knows more than me, why would I write in the margins?

19. What is your favorite language to read in?
English? I don't know any others. :(

20. What makes you love a book?
Characters and emotions. I'm huge on character development and wanting to feel something.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
When I can't sleep because I want to keep reading.

22. Favorite genre?
Fantasy/Paranormal/Contemporary. I can't choose. :)

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
I wish I read more Regency because I love them but I never seem to have any in my TBR pile! That and Historical fiction in general because I really love it, I just don't read it as much as I used to.

24. Favorite biography?
Audrey Hepburn by Barry Paris

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
nope lol.

26. Favorite cookbook?
I don't cook.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
Inspirational... does The DUFF count? It changed the way I thought of things...

28. Favorite reading snack?
Coffeeeee, and I tend to like BBQ chips, but not with Coffee. lol

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
eh Twilight I guess. I still love the books but just hearing the name tends to sicken me now because I instantly think of all those girls in my high school who were obsessed.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
Not very often because I seem to look for different things in books than they do.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I do it but it's not the majority. Normally I know within the first 50 pages whether I'll like the book and if I don't it will get put aside.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
Italian! I've always wanted to learn Italian.

33. Most intimi33dating book you’ve ever read?
Gone With the Wind because it was so huge! It's one of my favorites now though.

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
Hunger Games because everyone loves them so much... I'd feel horrible if I was alone hating it. haha

35. Favorite Poet?
Emily Dickenson or E.E. Cummings.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
We've been over this! None.

37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?
Whenever I borrowed one. lol

38. Favorite fictional character?
Harry Potter, Wes from The Truth About Forever, and Dimitri Belikov.

39. Favorite fictional villain?
Voldemort. I love to hate him.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
Something long so the car ride can be epic reading time, and I need less books that way also because long books take longer.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.
3 months?

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
The Host by Stephenie Meyer. :/

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
The tv and texting. lol

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
BBC Pride and Prejudice & Lord of the Rings

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
The Other Boleyn Girl.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?
50 I believe.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
... often. :D

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
Slow pace or for the MC to do something completely out of character that just doesn't make sense.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?
I keep my favorite ones together so I can admire their awesomeness, other than that it's just by author.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
If I finished it I'm keeping it.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?
I don't think I've really been avoiding Hunger Games. I have it and I want to read it, I'm just semi afraid to. lol

52. Name a book that made you angry.
I don't know really.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
Z by Michael Thomas Ford

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
Fallen by Lauren Kate (I liked it okay, but it just didn't sit well with me most of the time.)

55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead (LOVE THEM!)

Monday, August 30, 2010

The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller [Review]

The Eternal Ones
by Kirsten Miller


Haven Moore can’t control her visions of a past with a boy called Ethan, and a life in New York that ended in fiery tragedy. In our present, she designs beautiful dresses for her classmates with her best friend Beau. Dressmaking keeps her sane, since she lives with her widowed and heartbroken mother in her tyrannical grandmother’s house in Snope City, a tiny town in Tennessee. Then an impossible group of coincidences conspire to force her to flee to New York, to discover who she is, and who she was.

In New York, Haven meets Iain Morrow and is swept into an epic love affair that feels both deeply fated and terribly dangerous. Iain is suspected of murdering a rock star and Haven wonders, could he have murdered her in a past life? She visits the Ouroboros Society and discovers a murky world of reincarnation that stretches across millennia. Haven must discover the secrets hidden in her past lives, and loves¸ before all is lost and the cycle begins again.


Rating: A+
Source: From Publisher for review.
Release Date: August 10, 2010

Review:

For those of you who have been following my blog over the past few months you know The Eternal Ones was a novel I was dying for this summer. It did not disappoint and it is definitely one of my favorites of 2010.

The first thing that struck me about this novel was the beginning location. I loved the time we spent in Tennessee and I'm not just saying that because I'm a Tennessee native (go Vols!) but it was a refreshing atmosphere that I don't see very much of in YA. Granted, some of the things in the Tennessee town were exaggerated but most of it was dead on.

Haven and Beau never fit the Snope City norm and I spent quite a bit of time in these first few chapters despising Haven's grandmother for her own actions. They were a God fearing society, but I saw no love in what was dispensed on Haven and her supposedly demon possessed self. Snope City seemed to be such a small town that I believed that just this thing could happen, and Haven's blackouts and Ethan moments were sure to turn the town into a fit.

I felt like Haven was a strong character, perhaps a bit naive, but strong. It takes courage and strength to live in a place where everyone is against you and Haven never seemed to lose her focus and need to make it to New York.

When Haven is finally in New York City and Ian Morrow comes into the picture there are many swoon worthy moments, but I wasn't sure whether I liked him at first. I wanted him to be more straight forward, and less of a secret keeper but the farther you get into the book the more you understand him and by the end I was quite enamored with Ian Morrow. Although, I do wish we could have seen their relationship develop further in this book I have a feeling we will get to see more about them and the relationship in the sequel.

Beau was the friend I wish I'd had in high school and he was such a funny part of this novel. I really think every moment he was involved made me smile or laugh and he may be my favorite character. He was just so much fun!

I loved the mystery throughout the book and how the visions seemed to gradually put the pieces together. It constantly kept me guessing and the ending took me by surprise.

I loved the Eternal Ones! If you haven't read it yet what are you waiting for? You won't be disappointed. :)

-Christina

Sunday, August 29, 2010

In My Mailbox- Week of July 29th

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi aka
The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie!


This week I got...

I won this from Random Buzzers and I'm so excited to read it!

Also, sorry my posts have been so strange the past few days. I start college Monday so I've been trying to get that all sorted out, but wish me luck and expect my review for the Eternal Ones on Monday!

What did you get this week?

Friday, August 27, 2010

Book Blogger Hop!

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books!

This Week's Question:
Do you use a rating system for your reviews and if so, what is it and why?

My Answer:
Yes, I do use a rating system for my reviews simply because I have a hard time explaining exactly how I feel about the book because I go on my own personal emotions as judge. My ratings (A-F) are given to explain how high the book rates on the awesome scale. I wish I had one of those super cute picture ratings, but I am not tech savy so I feel this rating system works well for me and helps me formulate exactly how I feel when a review just isn't enough. I don't finish books I don't connect with though so most of my ratings are A's and B's so maybe my rating system is pointless, but it makes me feel better if nothing else.


If you're here from the hop I hope you enjoy your stay! Be sure to leave a comment so I can find your blog and visit you. :)

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

From Dusk Till Dawn Read-A-Thon! #1 Show Off Your Read

Photobucket

I am participating in another one! Luckily this challenge ends the day before I start school, so I can squeeze it in. :)

Here are the books I hope to read:
  • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  • City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
  • City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
  • Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel
Notice a theme? I need to be ready to see Cassandra Clare at the Decatur Book Festival (which is in 9 days. Not that I'm counting...)

Also, here is my entry to the first challenge which is hosted by Jami at YA Addict!


Yes, I have been living under a rock the past two years, but I just have one thing to say since I've started this book. IT'S AMAZING! Why didn't you guys tell me?!

Waiting On Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and it's purpose is to spotlight those titles we can't wait for!

What Lily Carter wants most in the world is to attend Princeton University just like her grandfather. When she finally visits the campus, Grandpa surprises her: She has been selected to take the top-secret Legacy Test. Passing means automatic acceptance to Princeton. Sweet!

Lily's test is to find the Ivy Key. But what is she looking for? Where does she start? As she searches, Lily is joined by Tye, a cute college boy with orange and black hair who says he's her guard. That's weird. But things get seriously strange when a gargoyle talks to her. He tells her that there are two Princetons—the ordinary one and a magical one—and the Key opens the gate between them. But there are more secrets that surround Lily. Worse secrets.

When Lily enters the magical Princeton, she uncovers old betrayals and new dangers, and a chance at her dream becomes a fight for her life. Soon Lily is caught in a power struggle between two worlds, with her family at its center. In a place where Knights slay monsters, boys are were-tigers, and dragons might be out for blood, Lily will need all of her ingenuity and courage—and a little magic—to unite the worlds and unlock the secrets of her past and her future.

*The entire Princeton thing sounds weird, but I am intrigued...

What are you waiting on?

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Shadow Hills Ebook Edition!

Today the Shadow Hills eBook is available for all of you lucky Kindle/Nook people!


After her sister Athena's tragic death, it's obvious that grief-stricken Persephone "Phe" Archer no longer belongs in Los Angeles. Hoping to make sense of her sister's sudden demise and the cryptic dreams following it, Phe abandons her bubbly LA life to attend an uptight East Coast preparatory school in Shadow Hills, MA — a school which her sister mysteriously mentioned in her last diary entry before she died.


Once there, Phe quickly realizes that something is deeply amiss in her new town. Not only does Shadow Hills' history boast an unexplained epidemic that decimated hundreds of its citizens in the 1700s, but its modern townies also seem eerily psychic, with the bizarre ability to bend metal. Even Zach — the gorgeous stranger Phe meets and immediately begins to lust after — seems as if he is hiding something serious. Phe is determined to get to the bottom of it. The longer she stays there, the more she suspects that her sister's untimely death and her own destiny are intricately linked to those who reside in Shadow Hills.


You can find it here from Barnes and Noble and Amazon!

Sunday, August 22, 2010

In My Mailbox - Week of August 22

In My Mailbox


In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi aka
The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie!

This week from Random Buzzers I got...

Photobucket

I've heard nothing but great things about this book and it's my first buzz bucks purchase! Woot!! I'm super excited to read it.

What did you guys get this week?

Thursday, August 19, 2010



The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books!


This Week's Question:

How many blogs do you follow?

My Answer:

I can't even keep track anymore but I always check out each update in my google reader. It's like an obsession but I like being up to date on what's going on. If I had to put a number on it I'd say I follow over 200.

If you're here from the hop be sure and leave your link so I can check out your blog!

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and it's purpose is to spotlight those titles we can't wait for!


Murder. Love. Jealousy. And the ultimate sacrifice. Now, with Rose on trial for her life and Lissa first in line for the Royal Throne, nothing will ever be the same between them.


It is no secret that I am in LOVE with The Vampire Academy series, and even more so with Dimitri Belikov. I'm just going to go ahead and say it now, Dimitri better NOT die.

I'm sorry to all of my Team Adrian followers. He's cool... but he's not Dimitri.

I have intense theories for this one and I can't wait to find out what happens next, though I am sad to see Rose's story end. The spin off should be amazing and hopefully will make the pain of this one ending lessen a bit.

I'm so excited!!

*I can't say I'm the biggest fan of this cover though. Her eyes seem weird to me, I don't know why. Anyone else feel this way?

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Fallen by Lauren Kate

Fallen
by Lauren Kate



There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

Rating: D
Source: Bought.

Review:

I wish I could say that I liked this book more but it just wasn't cutting it with me. I tried. I really, really tried to love this book but it just didn't hold the emotion I was longing for and it didn't have the aching heartbreaking romance I was expecting from the summary so I was relatively disappointed.

The summary sounded so amazing and I felt like it held a lot of promise in that department. It takes place in a reform school for goodness sake! That holds lots and lots of hopeful goodness!

Luce didn't feel real, I felt like she was living in a kind of alternate reality because she didn't feel anything. Her past leads me to think she should have had a harder time transitioning but she didn't and that bothered me. Her friends, her parents, even Daniel who she's pining over (God only knows why) never cross her mind in anything that seemed tangibly real. Her thoughts were just too irrelevant to make me believe she was really sincere about anything. She was nice, but I couldn't believe her emotions.

Daniel felt fake to me. One second he was on and the next he was off and if there is something that is unappealing it is that. He was far too wishy washy and I didn't feel like he was as tortured as he would like us all to have believed. For the first chapter I had such high hopes but then they just never got fulfilled after that.

I couldn't keep track of who was her friend and who wasn't. One second she was really close to someone, and then the next she was close to someone else. I wish there had been some constant friend and someone to at least help me know what was going on.

I didn't completely not like this book though, the idea and the actual story (once it came out) were good, it was just getting there and understanding it which was the problem.

I wanted more characterization, and far more emotion. That was my main problem I really just wanted to feel something, and I didn't.

I don't know if I'll read Torment. My gut tells me I will just simply because I started this series and therefore I want to see it through. Maybe there will be more epicness in Torment, and that is enough to tell me I'll read it.

I would love to hear what you all thought of it! Any Fallen lovers out there?

-Christina

Monday, August 16, 2010

I'm On Vacation!


Yes guys, I am on vacation. I don't know whether my posts will be any different over the next few days as we have Internet here, but I'm just super excited!

I'll be posting a review tomorrow, and finishing The Eternal Ones as it's super addicting, but I just thought I'd let you know what I'm up to.

Now I'm off to see a Titanic museum. :)

-Christina

Saturday, August 14, 2010

In My Mailbox!

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi aka
The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie!


This week I got...


Bought:
City of Glass by Cassandra Clare (Now I can read them!)
Fallen by Lauren Kate
Anastasia! - I love this movie to this day, I'm so happy I have it on DVD!

For Review:
Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel
The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller
Adios, Nirvana by Conrad Wesselhoeft

What did you get this week?

Z by Michael Thomas Ford

Z
by Michael Thomas Ford


Josh is by far the best zombie Torcher around. At least, he is in his virtual-reality zombie-hunting game. Zombies haven't existed in the real world in more than fifteen years, and the battle to defeat the devastating zombie epidemic is now the stuff of history lessons. Or so it seems.

When Josh accepts a coveted invitation to join an underground gaming league in the dark, forgotten tunnels of the city, he soon realizes that hunting zombies is not all fun and games. Real blood is spilling, members of the team are disappearing, and the zombies in the game are acting strange. And then there's the matter of a mysterious drug called Z...

This darkly thrilling teen novel will have readers holding their breath as they turn every page.

Rating: B+
Source: From Publisher for Review.
Release Date: September 7, 2010

Review:

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this novel. It was terribly addicting and I got completely taken away by this futuristic world in which zombies exist.

I will be the first to tell you that I dread the zombie apocalypse. I have friends who are completely enthralled by the idea and they always say it's a matter of when, not if when referring to it and that frightens me. I'm a chicken, I will admit it, but this take on zombies and the post zombie apocalyptic world was great.

The first thing I loved was the details throughout the novel, particularly those involving this world. It was fascinating to see how this world was different but still the same. Yes, Antarctica is turning into a rain forest, and yes paper is virtually non existent outside of a museum, but your parents are still your parents, school still sucks, and you still at times have to bribe your siblings to stay out of trouble.

It was still familiar and I loved that.

The zombies or "meatbags" as they're called in their virtual reality game came about by a unique mutation of the flu virus, but that was 15 years ago and the torchers that stopped the zombies are no longer in action but are rather just in their game. I loved the game because it's something most gamers pray is coming in the future. Virtual reality would be the ultimate gaming experience and zombie killing would most likely be a hit.

Nothing is like it appears to be though and when virtual reality becomes IRL (in real life) things start to get fishy.

"The first rule of torching: Cleanse with fire." I really liked the idea of the torchers. Fire seems like a much more useful weapon than a gun simply because it destroys everything in its path and in a fight with a zombie... fire seems like your best bet.

I loved the IRL games because they were terrifying. The fight scenes were epic and amazing, there were passages that literally had me clutching the book and I questioned whether I wanted to know what would happen. By the end I had no idea who the good guys and bad guys were anymore.

My one complaint is I wish I had felt more of an emotional connection with Josh earlier in the novel. I think in his head it stayed fun and games for a bit too long and I wish he had gotten it sooner.

The ending leaves it open for a sequel and I'm hoping we see one. I really need to find out what happens to Josh and Charlie!

If you're Team Zombie, this book is for you.

-Christina

Friday, August 13, 2010

Read Your Own Books Readathon!

I know I must be crazy for participating in another one of these, but the last one was just so much fun!

The Read Your Own Books Read-A-Thon is hosted by The Bibliophilic Book Blog!


I haven't gotten to read too much yet, but here are the books I hope to read!


Photobucket



I will be busy tomorrow and Sunday so I don't know why I'm doing this to myself... who needs sleep right?


Book Blogger Hop!



The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books!


This Week's Question:

How Many books are on your to be read shelf?

My Answer:

I don't want to talk about it...

No, really my to be read pile/shelf/bookcase is pretty manageable although I'm not including all of the books I would like to read in the future into this list. My TBR pile is just YA books and particularly those for review. The review books always come first and currently that's no problem, I'm not swamped, but I have bookcases of books that need to be read. In short I just have A LOT of books, and I will get to them one day but my focus is my review books. If I get all of those then I'm good to go.

If you're here from the hop be sure to comment and let me know so I can come see your blog!!

:)

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and it's purpose is to spotlight those titles we can't wait for!

After I saw Lori's vlog over at Pure Imagination this book was instantly moved up to a must read of 2011. I can't wait!!

Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love -the deliria- blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

What are you waiting on?

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading!

I'm thinking about going to see Lauren Kate when she's near me shortly after the Decatur Book Festival, and if I can go to both I will, so I thought it was high time I read Fallen. Plus, I'm obsessed with Random Buzzers and I see it everywhere there.

So far, I love it.

"I came here to get away," he said, cutting her off. "If you're not going to leave, I will."

He shoved his sketchbok into his backpack. When he pushed past, his shoulder brushed hers. Even as brief as the touch was, even though their layers of clothes, Luce felt a shock of static. For a second Daniel stood still, too. They turned their heads to look back at each other, and Luce opened her mouth. But before she could speak, Daniel had turned on his heel and was walking quickly toward the door.

-Fallen, page 80.

^chemistry much?

Monday, August 9, 2010

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger [Review]



Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn't think she's the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She's also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her "Duffy," she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren't so great at home right now. Desperate for a distraction, Bianca ends up kissing Wesley. And likes it. Eager for escape, she throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with Wesley.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out that Wesley isn't such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she's falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.



Rating:





Released: September 7th 2010 by Little Brown/Poppy
Source: From Publisher for review.

Review:

From the very first page I could not get enough of this book. I read it three weeks ago and I let that gap sit before reviewing in hopes that the squealing fangirly feelings would go away, it didn't. Instead I ended up rereading it and picking it up whenever I was between books to reread my favorite parts.

I'm in complete book love with The Duff.

The summary sounded like it would be fun, but I didn't expect to be so taken away and captured by the story. It had so many deeper meanings, and they completely shocked me. I didn't expect anything but a fun story and I ended up getting a book that really changed my outlook on people and relationships.

Bianca was an amazing main character. She was sarcastic and not afraid to tell it like it is which is perfect for Wesley, our other main character, who deserved to have a drink poured on him. Wesley is the typical man-slut, every school has one, mine did and I'm sure yours did as well. He's the typical guy who you try to stay away from... but also never turn down talking to if he approaches you. You know that guy? Yeah, meet Wesley. He's that jerk guy you can't help but love ...or completely despise.

*Insert girly squeal here because I love this book.*

Bianca's story is so easy to relate to and I felt that the concept of The Duff (the designated, ugly, fat, friend) was one everyone could remember feeling. We've all felt like the Duff and Bianca's story just magnified that.

Kody Keplinger did not write any flat characters in this book. It's not just about Bianca and Wesley, it's about Bianca's messed up home life and her relationship with her friends. It's about Wesley trying to be good for his sister, and his parents that are never home. There are so many different aspects that make The Duff amazing and that is what is truly great about this book. It's honest in a way that kept me turning the pages. There is some language and sexual situations throughout the book, but they were needed to tell the story accurately and honestly like it deserved to be told.

Kody Keplinger is eighteen and I'm insanely jealous of her for writing this story. I officially feel like a failure.

The Duff hits on some emotions I wasn't expecting and I loved every second I was reading it. It's one of my favorite books I've read this year and if you haven't read it I really think you should.

The Duff is amazing, go read it.

Sunday, August 8, 2010

In My Mailbox - August 8th

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi aka
The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie!

This week I got...


From Simon and Schuster's Pulse it program!

&

From NetGalley (so excited!)

So, what did you guys get this week?

Saturday, August 7, 2010

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah Maclean

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake
by Sarah Maclean


A lady does not smoke cheroot. She does not ride astride. She does not fence or attend duels. She does not fire a pistol, and she never gambles at a gentlemen's club.

Lady Calpurnia Hartwell has always followed the rules, rules that have left her unmarried—and more than a little unsatisfied. And so she's vowed to break the rules and live the life of pleasure she's been missing.

But to dance every dance, to steal a midnight kiss—to do those things, Callie will need a willing partner. Someone who knows everything about rule-breaking. Someone like Gabriel St. John, the Marquess of Ralston—charming and devastatingly handsome, his wicked reputation matched only by his sinful smile.

If she's not careful, she'll break the most important rule of all—the one that says that pleasure-seekers should never fall hopelessly, desperately in love . . .


Rating: A+

Review:

My blog may be YA, but that definitely doesn't mean I don't enjoy a good Regency Romance. I love them actually and recently they've been my go to when I need to read a book that I don't have to review. This book however is by Sarah Maclean and therefore she has a history in YA with her first book, The Season, so I feel I need to tell you all about my love for her newest title.

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake was the first romance that I adored! It truly left me amazed and left me wanting to read even more regency romances pronto. It just had everything that I wanted. Callie was not a pushover and she was a witty and vibrant heroine. Ralston was a strong male lead in the sense that I could sense the emotions coming off of him with each page and he should be added to my list of literary crushes as well.

What really surprised me about it was how fun it was to read. Their conversations were entertaining and Callie's antics had me laughing out loud throughout the entire book.

I have always loved the Regency Era, there's just something about how the guys were gentlemanly, the way the dances and balls were held. I genuinely love the sound of how it was (though life without AC and internet may not be amazing) I feel like I would love to visit it and this book was perfect for quenching my Regency thirst.

There are some *ahem* scenes that may not be appropriate for younger people, so this is me warning you.

If you are in need of an amazing Regency the first recommendation I will give you is Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake. Hands down.

Go read it so you can be ready for Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord when it comes out in October!

-Christina

Friday, August 6, 2010

Book Blogger Hop!



The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books!


This Week's Question: Do you listen to music when you read?

My Answer: Definitely not. When I listen to music I listen to the lyrics so it is very distracting. I love music and reading, but I have never put them together.




:)

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and it's purpose is to spotlight those titles we can't wait for!

Haven Moore can’t control her visions of a past with a boy called Ethan, and a life in New York that ended in fiery tragedy. In our present, she designs beautiful dresses for her classmates with her best friend Beau. Dressmaking keeps her sane, since she lives with her widowed and heartbroken mother in her tyrannical grandmother’s house in Snope City, a tiny town in Tennessee. Then an impossible group of coincidences conspire to force her to flee to New York, to discover who she is, and who she was.

In New York, Haven meets Iain Morrow and is swept into an epic love affair that feels both deeply fated and terribly dangerous. Iain is suspected of murdering a rock star and Haven wonders, could he have murdered her in a past life? She visits the Ouroboros Society and discovers a murky world of reincarnation that stretches across millennia. Haven must discover the secrets hidden in her past lives, and loves¸ before all is lost and the cycle begins again.


*I have been eager for this title since I first heard about it! It sounds really amazing, and the reincarnation idea has always intrigued me, plus I'm from Tennessee so that aspect of it is also appealing.

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

[Movie Review] Charlie St. Cloud


Charlie St. Cloud

Charlie St. Cloud is a young man overcome by grief at the death of his younger brother. So much so that he takes a job as caretaker of the cemetery in which his brother is buried. Charlie has a special lasting bond with his brother though, as he can see him. Charlie meets up with his brother (Sam) each night to play catch and talk. Then, a girl comes into Charlie's life and he must choose between keeping a promise he made to Sam, or going after the girl he loves

Rating: A

Review:

This movie made me cry, and that just doesn't happen. I know a lot of people have said bad things about it, I was hesitant to see it because of what I had heard and seen in the commercials. I thought it was one of those movies that show EVERYTHING in the previews, but I was wrong. I don't normally do movie reviews but I loved this movie and I just had to tell you guys.

The story line is so much fun in the beginning and quickly you're brought into this relationship between Charlie and his little brother, Sam. They are so amazing together, their relationship is one that I would love to have with a sibling and in the blink of an eye it's all taken away (this was where the tears fell.)

I can understand why he would give up everything to keep that relationship, the bond between them was great and letting that go would be excruciatingly difficult and you can see that in Charlie. Everyone in his town knows he's suffering but no one is willing to help him. Instead he becomes the outcast, the weird guy, and this is really sad to me.

Zac Efron's acting was great. I've always liked him and thought he was rather attractive, but in this movie he impressed me and I know not everyone will agree with me, but I liked him.

I really liked the plot, and it had some unexpected moments that really took my breath away.

The actual movie was beautiful, the lighting and the scenery captured the moments perfectly and I wish I had blow ups of these moments to put on my wall. I'm determined to visit Vancouver so I can see some of these amazing places that were in the movie.

Ultimately I felt it was great, and I don't want to ruin it for anyone who hasn't seen it yet so I'll stop gushing now, but I will say Charlie St. Cloud is definitely worth your time and money to see.

Go see it.

-Christina

Monday, August 2, 2010

The Versatile Blogger Award!

Thanks so much to Asel at End of Story, Next Book, Monica at The Ramblings of a Book Addict, and Alison at Alison Can Read for the award!
Be sure to check out each of these amazing blogs! ^
  1. Just a few things you must do if you receive the award:
  2. Thank and link back to the person who gave you the award.
  3. Share 7 things about yourself.
  4. Pass the award along to 15 bloggers who you have recently discovered and who you think are fantastic.
  5. Contact the bloggers you’ve picked and let them know about the award!

Okay, here's seven things about me:

  1. I can't eat plain chocolate. It grosses me out if it doesn't have something in it.
  2. I have this really strange obsession with old movies. Don't get me wrong, I still absolutely adore the new ones (woot Star Trek!) but the old ones just leave me happy.
  3. I'm starting college this year and though I'm excited I can't stand the thought of summer being over. Anyone in college that wants to pass on some words of wisdom, feel free.
  4. I'm a very fast reader, but normally I can't start another book the same day I finish another one. I don't know why, it just feels wrong.
  5. I love emails! I just love not knowing what to expect. It's like a surprise party everyday!
  6. Very few people who I interact with daily know about this blog and even if they do know about it, they still have never seen it. I like having it and it being just for me. Well, and all of my amazing followers of course. :D
  7. I hate icing on cake and even more so on cupcakes. I don't like the taste or texture, plain cake is more than fine with me.

Here's the amazing blogs I pick.

Sorry that I can't pick more! 15 is a huge number and I need to sleep sometime. :)

Thanks for picking me guys! I'm pretty sure I have the best followers on the planet.

Sunday, August 1, 2010

Siren by Tricia Rayburn ARC + Kimberly Derting Swag Giveaway!

Siren & Kimberly Derting Swag Giveaway!


I recently won the Box 'O Arcs contest from Nicole at Word For Teens and in that box was Siren by Tricia Rayburn which I loved! I already had a copy of it so I've decided I'm going to give my extra copy away.

Here's what you can win:

  • 1 ARC of Siren by Tricia Rayburn! (review here)
  • 1 The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting bookmark (signed!)
  • 1 The Body Finder sticker!
  • 1 Blue Aligator Silly band (because I think they're cute and it went with the color scheme!)

You do not have to be a follower to enter, but it is appreciated! :)
There are several ways to get extra entries and you can do all of them or none of them. Whatever you prefer. Please leave links for all extra entries! If you tweet be sure to @ChristinaBooksA so I can see it.
U.S. only. Sorry international readers!


Contest ends September 2nd! (oops on the form!)


Extra entries:
Tweet +2 (up to 5 times)
Blog Post +5
Sidebar +3

Just fill out the form below to be entered! Good luck guys!


There was an error in this gadget
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the In the Castle and Story Book Castle by Lorie Davison