Follow by Email

Thursday, September 30, 2010

YA = Books Based On TV Shows?


I had a discussion with one of my friends not too long ago, and during the discussion I brought up how much I love YA books and pretty much everything about them. My friend is very academic, and she does not view YA the way I do, and a comment she made about YA made me question some things. She said, "YA seems to be where all of those books based off of TV shows end up."

I didn't know what to say to this, because I know that books like Vampire Diaries, were in fact books before they were TV shows... but apparently not everyone knows this. So this left me thinking about those covers and the possibility that maybe the covers are turning people off. Granted, I think that the TV show is probably turning a good many people on to reading the series, but what about those people who don't care about things like that and the only cover they see is one promoting the show?

Maybe they would think it was a product of the show rather than the show being a product of the book.

What really bothered me about it was because of these covers my friend was, whether she meant to or not, dismissing all of YA based on what she said. I can't help but wonder how everyone else who isn't as into the YA scene as me perceives these things. Do they primarily lump all of YA together and call it like Twilight, or do they actually recognize it for how different it is?

I don't know where I stand on TV and movie based covers for books. I'm very undecided.This just got me thinking about whether they help, or turn people off.

How do you feel on the cover remakes we see in YA so often?

Do they ultimately help people read YA, or do they make people shrug it off?

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Censorship and Why It Sucks.


I have been a victim of book banning.

Just like every single one of us.

Book banning makes my skin curl, and leaves me looking for my pitch fork to go fight off this form of censorship. This week is Book Banning week and I am going to share with you a bit about my banning and censorship experiences.

My first ever experience with book banning came when I was around ten years old. I had just read the first Harry Potter book and inside I was absolutely consumed with this joy I'm still not sure I can ever feel again. Finally, something makes sense, finally life seems like more than this average world around me, and finally, I have read and loved a story. While I was on this high of greatness, something I didn't understand happened. Everyone started telling me how horrible I was for loving it.

I have a religious family, and live in a fairly conservative part of the country, and all of a sudden I am being told that this new thing that I love and never want to let go of is wrong, and that even God is angry at me for it.

This was a horrible thing for little ten year old me to accept. I never did accept it.

Instead of accepting this and raising my pitch fork towards the direction of the Harry Potter lovers, I instead thought of argument after argument that tried to prove, at least in my mind, that I was not crazy, and that this thing I adored was not bad. I thought, "How different is Harry Potter really than The Wizard of Oz? They both use magic, and if that is your argument, than lets ban that too." and, "Harry Potter is essentially Good vs. Evil. What is wrong with that?"

However many arguments I tried to come up with, I was young, and my opinion on this matter was deemed unimportant to those around me. I had parents who thankfully, did agree with me on these points, but still my resolve was essentially shattered. I didn't want to go to Hell for something I loved... and I truly was afraid that that would happen for a while.

When I was in high school I also had several experiences with banning that left me chilled on the inside by how crazy and ridiculous some of them were. At this point in time I had long since stood my ground with the Harry Potter issue and had since become extremely concerned with every type of censorship I saw. A lot of these issues were just teachers telling me things after they'd read books, sometimes these things involved sexual situations, drugs, alcohol, cussing, etc...

More times than not, once these people reached these parts they stopped reading, and then complained about how awful it was, and how teens should not be exposed to these things.

Ummm... have you been to high school?

I promise you that every single day I was exposed to every single thing that was complained about and more. These books should be given to Teens because we need them! There seems to be a misconception that within these books these authors are encouraging us to partake in these things and that is simply not the case. If they actually finished or read the books they are banning they might see that.

Teens need these books because sometimes that's the only form of encouragement we have. These books have the potential to say, "Hey, you're not alone," to every Teen across the country. Only people who have read a book and instantly felt that connection and change in themselves understand what that can mean.

My school librarian my senior year of High School used to skim books that came in for the YA fiction section. We'd had an amazing librarian the year before, so this action completely stunned me. She would look for key words, mainly cussing, drinking, drugs, etc... and I remember feeling nothing but a complete outrage at this action. She did it quietly, no one knew she did it, and she'd just take the book off the shelf.

No reading of it, no asking of opinions, nothing. If she saw words that she deemed, "Unacceptable," it was gone. I watched as Looking For Alaska by John Green, Just Listen by Sarah Dessen, Crank by Ellen Hopkins, and Forever by Judy Blume were all taken from shelves and no matter how many times I asked her about it or tried to stop it, there was absolutely nothing I could do.

I was just a Teen who's opinion didn't matter.

I just wish that these people who take books from shelves would realize that what they are doing is not changing our idea on the book. All of those people who told me all of that stuff about Harry Potter did not in any way, shape, or form make me love the book any less. All they did was outrage me and make me want to do everything I could to stop them. It changed my view of them as people, and they can't get that back. By banning a book you're not making it go away, you're just outraging the people who love it into expressing how much they love it. You just end up bringing us anti book banners together, and believe me, you don't want that to happen.

I just wish people would stop being afraid. Teens need these books because, I know my life has been influenced by a piece of fiction, and I can't imagine who I'd be now if someone had taken that book from the shelves.

No one should be able to decide what you should and shouldn't read. Think for yourself and read what YOU want, and if it's been banned, it's probably a really, really good book.

*I'm sorry this is so ridiculously long, if you read it all I applaud you!*

Waiting On Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and its purpose is to spotlight those titles we can't wait for!


Directly between my feet is a coppery-bronze octagon with a star. Words are engraved in the stone around it: POINT ZÉRO DES ROUTES DE FRANCE.

"Mademoiselle Oliphant. It translates to 'Point zero of the roads of France.' In other words, it's the point from which all other distances in France are measured." St. Clair clears his throat. "It's the beginning of everything."

I look back up. He's smiling.

"Welcome to Paris, Anna. I'm glad you've come . . . Now make a wish."


Anna was looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. So she's less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris — until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all . . . including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? Stephanie Perkins keeps the romantic tension crackling and the attraction high in a debut guaranteed to make toes tingle and hearts melt.


I want it SOOO bad! I really think it is kind of ridiculous how much I am looking forward to this book. I love books that take place in Europe, especially when the main character lived in Atlanta. I just really can't think of anything I might not like about it, and that is always awesome. :)

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

Book Love.


I'm sure as avid book readers like myself you all are aware of the marvelous phenomenon which happens to all of us a couple, perhaps fewer, times a year.

This phenomenon is known as Book Love, and I am in intense book love at the moment.

I started The Hunger Games last night, you know, REALLY started it... and I never should have made that decision. I have been up reading for hours... and I have an exam today!

I will be scheduling this post for while I am actually in my exam, but I just can't stop reading, and I had to tell you guys so I feel a bit less crazy.

Lori, I hope you are proud of yourself, and I definitely should have listened to you sooner!

(For those who are wondering, at the moment I am completely Team Peeta *swoon*)

Now back to readi... studying. :)

Monday, September 27, 2010

YouTube Monday [1]

Mondays always seem to be a strange day for me, simply because Mondays are my back to school days and they tend to be hectic.

So, to fix this Monday problem I have decided to post a bookish video from YouTube every Monday.

My first video is one of my absolute favorite videos from John and Hank Green, also known as the Vlogbrothers. This video makes me smile every time I watch it. It was made right before Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows came out and Part 1 of the movie comes out in November, so we need to prepare. If you've never heard of Vlogbrothers or read anything by John Green I recommend you do that pronto.

I hope you love it as much as I do. :)



Let me know what you guys think!

Now, I'm off to do homework. DFTBA.

DFTBA = Don't forget to be awesome.

Saturday, September 25, 2010

In My Mailbox!

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi aka The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie!

This week I almost spazzed out in my driveway. I got...


It's so pretty! I absolutely loved the first in the series, The Body Finder, and this book is one of the ones I have been most looking forward to!

I technically got it last week, but I didn't actually open it until this week... so I believe it counts.


What did you get this week?


2011 Books I Can't Wait For!

This is a one time post just to show you a short list of the books I am greatly looking forward to in 2011 - pretty much a very large Waiting on Wednesday post because I can't get over how amazing next year's books seem!

I'm not even including ones without covers here guys! Next year = epic.

Links go to Goodreads so you can see them for yourself!

Release Date: February 15, 2011
I have a soft spot for awesome looking paranormals!


Release Date: February 1, 2011
It's a southern contemporary! Of course I will love it!


I love outer space... and the Beatles. Even though The Beatles have nothing to do with this book, the title reminds me of them which in turn makes me happy.


Release Date: February 1, 2011
I've just heard so many amazing things I can't not be excited for this one! I love the cover and the description.


Release Date: March 2011
I just really love this cover and the description involves a guy from her dreams who shows up... which just sounds interesting.


Release Date: March 1, 2010
I loved The Body Finder so much! I was so happy when I heard there was more.


Release Date: March 29, 2010
This may be the most gorgeous cover I have EVER seen, and the summary sounds amazing also. I am definitely counting the days!



This is just a very, very short list of books I can't wait for. If there's any you think I've missed let me know! I'd love to know what you can't wait for!

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Book Blogger Hop!



The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books!


This Weeks Question:

When you are writing a review, do you write it while you are reading or wait until you have read the entire book?

My Answer:


It's a little of both really. While I'm reading I think of things I definitely want to include and I even write them down in this 'idea book' I have, but when I'm really writing a review I don't feel like it's fair to actually sit down and write it with out having read the book all the way through. The things I write down ahead of time are things like, "I love that it's funny! Lend = awesome!" <--- exact quote taken during reading Paranormalcy, and another one was, "Music and voice are amazing!" <--- while reading The Mockingbirds.

So now you know how strange my notes are, but that's really how my reviews go. I collect all of the little note feelings and then sit down to write my review.

If you're here from The Hop, welcome!
Be sure to leave a comment so I can visit you!

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and its purpose is to spotlight those titles we can't wait for!


Things in Delilah Hannaford's life have a tendency to fall apart.

She used to be a good student, but she can't seem to keep it together anymore. Her "boyfriend" isn't much of a boyfriend. And her mother refuses to discuss the fight that divided their family eight years ago. Falling apart, it seems, is a Hannaford tradition.

Over a summer of new friendships, unexpected romance, and moments that test the complex bonds between mothers and daughters, Delilah must face her family's painful past. Can even her most shattered relationships be pieced together again?



*I really loved 20 Boy Summer so I'm super excited for this one. I just love summer novels, summer has so much possibility! *

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White [Review]


Weird as it is working for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, Evie's always thought of herself as normal. Sure, her best friend is a mermaid, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals' glamours, but still. Normal.

Only now paranormals are dying, and Evie's dreams are filled with haunting voices and mysterious prophecies. She soon realizes that there may be a link between her abilities and the sudden rash of deaths. Not only that, but she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

Rating:





Source:
From publisher for review

Review:

This book was fantastic! Normally with Paranormals there's essentially a formula you could put in for the story, but with Paranormalcy this was definitely not the case. There are so many original elements that join together to make this book and it was such a refreshing read.

It is a fun paranormal which is something I have missed so much! It's fun and it doesn't brood or focus on the dramatic. It's light, funny and perfect, I could not put it down.

I loved Evie because she was always herself. She grew up in the IPCA building, so maybe she never thought to hide herself but she is fun and vibrant and I loved that about her. So often now it seems that our protagonists are emotional and almost in a state of depression and it was so nice to have a character who feels sadness but yet doesn't let it effect who she is and how she acts. I mean, she has a pink taser named Tasey! How much cooler can a protag get?

I loved the variety of paranormal beings that are found within Paranormalcy as well. There were vampires, werewolves, faeries, hags, shape shifters, mermaids, and so many more that I can't even think of right now. It was awesome! White takes a completely different approach to some of these beings and I loved hearing about them and their galmours.

The romance in the book was sweet and I really adored Lend. He's one of my favorite leading men of recent memory just because of how genuine he was. Every once in a while I just want to read about a nice guy and Lend fit that perfectly.

I loved how we also got a peek into the inner workings of the IPCA and even see a hint of government and its lack of perfection. It was really nice to watch Evie come to terms with everything that was being thrown at her, especially when it questioned everything she had ever known.

Paranormalcy is just one of those books I want to hug and keep with me all the time so I can reread the conversations and relive my favorite parts. I don't want to be too far away from Evie and Lend and the paranormal creatures I came to love in Kiersten White's world. It's definitely one of my favorites of 2010, if not one of my favorites of all time!

I bleeping love this book!

Out With The Old, In With The New...

So for those of you who visit my blog regularly you might have noticed something different about it this afternoon. I got a new blog design!!

Lori from Pure Imagination and Use Your Imagination Designs made me this amazing one and I am in LOVE with it.

When I was younger I was absolutely obsessed with fairy tales and because of this (and me never getting to live in a castle) I decided my blog should have a castle of its own.

For an example of this new designs awesome, I give you my new rating system:
I really love every aspect of this new design and I hope you do too!

So out with the old...

And in with the amazing!

Monday, September 20, 2010

Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel [Review]

Lenah Beaudonte is, in many ways, your average teen: the new girl at Wickham Boarding School, she struggles to fit in enough to survive and stand out enough to catch the eye of the golden-boy lacrosse captain. But Lenah also just happens to be a recovering five-hundred-year-old vampire queen. After centuries of terrorizing Europe, Lenah is able to realize the dream all vampires have -- to be human again. After performing a dangerous ritual to restore her humanity, Lenah entered a century-long hibernation, leaving behind the wicked coven she ruled over and the eternal love who has helped grant her deep-seated wish.

Until, that is, Lenah draws her first natural breath in centuries at Wickham and rediscovers a human life that bears little resemblance to the one she had known. As if suddenly becoming a teenager weren’t stressful enough, each passing hour brings Lenah closer to the moment when her abandoned coven will open the crypt where she should be sleeping and find her gone. As her borrowed days slip by, Lenah resolves to live her newfound life as fully as she can. But, to do so, she must answer ominous questions: Can an ex-vampire survive in an alien time and place? What can Lenah do to protect her new friends from the bloodthirsty menace about to descend upon them? And how is she ever going to pass her biology midterm?

Rating: A
Source: From publisher for review.

Review:

I am so happy to see a truly original take on vampires! Recently there are so many vampire books, and don't get me wrong, I have liked most of them, but this one is a completely different kind of story and I loved it!

The story itself is told between the present and flashbacks of the past. I have to say that these flashbacks may have been my favorite part of the novel as they were just so beautiful to read. Lenah's past as evil vampire queen was truly captivating and I found myself getting lost in the glamor of it all, but then also being taken back by some of the truly horrible things she was a part of.

I loved Lenah as a protagonist and during her human transition I felt like I was making the transition with her. Her thoughts sounded like something someone would feel being completely disconnected from the modern world and I just loved being in her head.

The romance in the book is absolutely fantastic! I was instantly team Rhode, though I like Justin. I felt Lenah and Justin's relationship might have developed a bit on the fast side but I still really enjoyed reading about them together, plus I thought Justin was sweet.

I really liked the pacing of the novel, and the ending left me saying, "WOAH!"

If you haven't read it yet, I strongly urge you to do so as this novel is definitely one of my favorites of 2010. I really, really missed when vampires were scary, and this book gave me that again!

Infinite Days is a novel that can't be missed for fans of the paranormal and I absolutely can not wait for the sequel!

-Christina

Saturday, September 18, 2010

In My Mailbox!

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi aka The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie!


This week was full of surprises, but they were awesome surprises!

I got...




I've been having such good weeks recently! *does happy dance*


What did you guys get this week?

:)

Thursday, September 16, 2010

Book Blogger Hop!



The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books!


This Weeks Question:

Who are some of your favorite book bloggers and why?

My Answer:

You couldn't have asked a harder question because there are just so many book blogs I love! The two that really stand out though are probably Pure Imagination and of course, The Story Siren.

The Story Siren was the first blog I ever really learned from if that makes sense, I was a very, very new blogger and she had so much advice and her blog was a great resource for finding other blogs and just learning the ins and outs of blogging. Plus, she was amazingly nice and supportive whenever I asked a question.

Lori at Pure Imagination is one of my favorites because she's just so nice! I met her at the Decatur Book Festival and she let me tag along with her everywhere, for real, I felt like a lost puppy. She's definitely one of the nicest people I have met in a while, and she's the closest blogger to me at thirty minutes away! She's an awesome blogger and if you haven't seen her blog yet you should definitely go do that.

If you're from the hop be sure to leave a comment so I can go visit your blog!

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare [Review]


When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . . .

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Rating: B
Source: Bought

Review:
Everyone has been talking about this series, and quite frankly I felt tired of being out of the loop. So I read it, and I really enjoyed it.

There is so much in the pages of this book, so many beings, secrets, and I feel it really effectively creates this other world. Cassandra Clare is amazing at drawing you into the story. I really liked the way that this underground world was sewn into our real world. It's normally my favorite type of story because I like to believe these things are possible (my Hogwarts letter is coming, I know it) but while I really liked the story and direction it took throughout, I didn't like everything.

Luke really annoyed me, and this isn't to say that I didn't like him, in fact I love the idea of Luke, but I was constantly thinking about Gilmore Girls. There are other similarities with other well known things but this one was the one that really struck out to me. I mean, he was so much like the Luke I have loved forever... and his name is Luke! This didn't ruin anything for me as I really did enjoy the story throughout, I just wish she had made him wear a suit or something... or had named him John.

I loved Clary and Jace's relationship because Jace was amazing and sarcastic. They were just fun to watch and I loved spying on them, though I do wish there had been more emotion from both of them at times. Simon was the perfect nerd boy, and I really wish he was my best friend because he made me laugh.

The big twist at the end didn't really surprise me as I just expect that from someone as evil as Valentine and I refuse to accept it is true.

Overall I did really enjoy this book and I can't wait to read the rest of the series!

-Christina

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and its purpose is to spotlight those titles we can't wait for!

Corrinne Corcoran’s upscale Manhattan life is perfectly on track—until her father announces he’s been laid off and she’s shipped off to Broken Spoke, Texas, to live with her grandparents. All alone in a big public school and forced to take a job shoveling manure, Corrinne is determined to get back to the glamorous life she’s supposed to be living. But as she grudgingly adjusts—making new friends and finding romance along the way—this city girl begins to realize that life without credit cards and shopping sprees may not be as bad as it seems....

In this sparkling debut that flawlessly balances romance and humor, readers will grow to love sharp and sassy Corrinne as she goes on her totally reluctant but completely irresistible journey of self-discovery.



I think this one sounds utterly amazing. Contemporary titles are some of my favorite, and contemporary titles dealing with the south are even more so. So excited!!

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Author Guest Post: Angela Morrison!

I was lucky enough to have the always amazing, Angela Morrison, author of Sing Me To Sleep, Taken By Storm, and Unbroken Connection with me today to do a guest post about one of her own publishing experiences.


Wednesday. February 24, 2010, my phone rang. I stopped packing heavy sweaters, wool socks, and boots for SING ME TO SLEEP's launch tour back in Canada and answered.

Cool. My editor was on the phone. SING ME TO SLEEP was one week away from launch. I was leaving on Friday to join Amabile Choirs of London Canada to celebrate their 25th Anniversary and SING's release at a gala festival concert. How nice of her to call and wish me well.

But my editor had news of her own. The kind of news authors have nightmares about. She was leaving Razorbill to start her own boutique literary development company. Just great. It was so hard to find an editor who was willing to take a risk on my type of stories--heartfelt love stories with subtle spiritual underpinnings. Finding my editor was truly a miracle. Had I used up my share or could I count on another?

It should be okay, I reasoned. TAKEN BY STORM was out in paperback. SING ME TO SLEEP was on it's way. But I had submitted STORM's sequel, UNBROKEN CONNECTION, months back in fulfillment of my contract's option clause and really wanted sign that and the final novel in Michael and Leesie's saga, CAYMAN SUMMER. My agent was counting on the same. With my editor gone, could that still happen?

Monday morning--after a hair-raising drive through a blizzard from the Detroit Airport to London, Ontario, a fantastic weekend with Amabile, and getting to see Matt's mom again and go to the hospital with her to meet the wonderful team of nurses who cared for Matt, I got an email from Razorbill's publisher rejecting UNBROKEN CONNECTION. Three days before SING ME TO SLEEP's launch. Cold, huh?

My agent talked brave about finding a new publishing home. And then I didn't hear from him--for months. (We've since parted ways.) But I had huge support from my readers and the blogging community. One blogger started a FB group and another designed a "Don't Break the Connection" icon to post around the blogosphere. That all meant so much to me.

So I made plans of my own. Why not go indie? Publish UNBROKEN CONNECTION myself. I got some great advice from other authors who'd taken the same path and my son assured me he could do all the design work (phew! great to have talented kids, huh?), so I jumped.

UNBROKEN CONNECTION is now available as an eBook or a paperback. Isn't the cover gorgeous! I'm so excited to have you all read it. I hope it surprises you as much as it surprised me.

What's next? Like I said, UNBROKEN CONNECTION is book two in Michael and Leesie's drama. They really don't like where I left them. I tell them to be patient--second books have to end on a bit of a cliffhanger, right? They are tired of being patient. So--October 15th--I'm launching a new blog site devoted entirely to CAYMAN SUMMER. I plan to post the novel as I write it--poem by poem, dive log by dive log, chat by chat. This is a journey I want to bring all my readers along for! Are you game? Stop by http://www.angela-morrison.com/ for updates and links or friend me on FaceBook or Goodreads where you'll get even more up-to-date info!

Thanks so much, Christina, for hanging in there with me. You hear about things like this happening all the time in the publishing industry--but you don't ever think it will happen to you. I have learned something huge, though. Editors, agents, publishers come and go. That's reality. There is nothing constant in this business. Except . . . YOU! Readers. It's my commitment to be constant for you. In the long run, nothing else really matters.


Thank you so much Angela for doing this guest post and I am one of the many who are so, so happy that Unbroken Connection is in book form at last! Team Michael and Leesie!

You can watch the trailer to Unbroken Connection here:



Sunday, September 12, 2010

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi aka
The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie!


This week I got...




It was an amazing week!

Super big thanks to Daisy Whitney for adding me to the blog tour for the Mockingbirds (it's amazing!) and to Disney Hyperion.


What did you get this week?

Saturday, September 11, 2010

Why I Dislike Romeo and Juliet


About two months ago I did a post describing why I love Gone With the Wind. This time, I'm going to be talking about something I don't like so much.

Romeo and Juliet.

Don't get me wrong, I like the story, I really do and I think Shakespeare is a genius and always will be one, but I have always had a problem with Romeo and Juliet, and as I was flipping through one of my old journals I found a full out rant about exactly why I feel this way, and now I'm going to share some of those reasons with you.

We start the play with Romeo head over heels in love with Rosalie. Rosalie, Rosalie, Rosalie. All he can talk about is how he is, "Out of her favor, and in love." It's depressing and completely superficial, he is not in love, and by what I know of Romeo and his nature she is not the first girl he has been in "love" with.

Romeo is a hopeless romantic who is in love with the idea of love.

The forbidden love aspect and feuding families make for an amazing story premise but the characters just never followed suit with me. If you look at the timeline for Romeo and Juliet it is just insane by how quickly their relationship develops.
(I'm guessing the exact times, the days are what matter.)

Day one, 12:00 pm - Romeo is obsessed with Rosalie.
Day one, 8:00 pm- Romeo sees Juliet and instantly is in love with her.
Day one, 12:00 am - Romeo and Juliet plan to marry the following day.
Day two, 12:00 pm - Romeo kills Tybalt
Day two, 2:00 pm - Juliet doesn't care
Day two, 4:00 pm - Romeo and Juliet get married
Day three, 12:00 am- Juliet's marriage to Paris is planned.
Day four, 12:00 am - Juliet wants to commit suicide.
Day five, 2:00 pm - Juliet and Romeo die.

I'm sorry, but I do not find this romantic. This does not scream the ultimate love story to me, to me this screams insanity and lust. They were kids, I believe Juliet was thirteen at the time and she did not know what love was and it's a great story and I understand that this is classic literature and viewing it almost like a science experiment is not its intention, but I just think that there are so many better examples of true, real, lasting romance in the world.

Lets take Ron and Hermione from Harry Potter for a stroll shall we?

Ron and Hermione's relationship took years to develop yet we all knew it was there, their relationship felt real to the point where we knew it would happen before it did. They were friends first and foremost which led to more which is in itself the most realistic relationship you can find. Harry Potter wasn't about Ron and Hermione's relationship but yet I still definitely cared what happened with them.

I'm not saying that Ron and Hermione's relationship is the ultimate one at all, I just find it to be a really realistic representation of one.

I don't rant about things often and really there are very few pieces of literature that I just don't connect with, but Romeo and Juliet was one of those pieces. I believe that perhaps Shakespeare's intention was not for it to be this love story but maybe to show how the actions of these people can completely change everything. It's a tragedy unlike any other because essentially the parents, the people who should be protecting and loving their children are responsible in part for their ultimate demise.

I believe it is a marvelous play and that Shakespeare is still one of the greatest writers on the planet, but Romeo and Juliet is not great for its love story because its love story seems like it's almost meant to seem artificial. I think he put so much more thought and meaning into it, and I feel like that has gotten lost with the "worlds greatest love story" label found everywhere Romeo and Juliet is these days.

It's just a thought, and I really hope I didn't offend anyone with this because I adore Shakespeare and I even love Romeo and Juliet, it's just the fact it is known for the love story that bothers me when I feel it goes so much deeper than that.

(Please don't sent me hate mail *crosses fingers.*)

Thursday, September 9, 2010

Book Blogger Hop!

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books!

This Weeks Question:

Post a link to a favorite post or book review that you have written in the past three months.

My Answer:

I'm not sure how much I like this weeks question. I don't really have a favorite blog post or review because all of them I feel aren't as good as I wanted them to be, simply because I'm a reviewer so spending a week writing one review while there are ten more in the waiting is not a very productive thing. The reviews of books that I love are always the hardest to write so I'd say my favorite review is the one I did on Fallen by Lauren Kate, because I didn't like it very much and the words just poured out of me. It's very seldom I give a negative review, but this one is really almost like my thought process.

You can read my Fallen review here.

My favorite review that I've done recently for a book I LOVED was definitely for The DUFF. I adored this book. LOVED it. I was surprised by how much I did and really my review is full of gushing, but everyone should read The DUFF.

You can read my review for The DUFF here.

If you're here from the Hop be sure to leave your link so I can try to come by and say hello!

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

Decatur Book Festival Recap Part 2

The second day of the festival was just as amazing as the first and for those of you who haven't seen day one, you can check that out here, or just scroll down. :)

Day two I started my day with coffee. A lot of coffee. For some reason I just could not sleep so I ended up arriving at the festival around 11 and immediately met up with Lori and her husband Beau. We were trying to figure out what our schedule would be when we saw Kirsten Miller. Lori had a surprise breakfast with her, so I was relatively bummed about missing my chance to meet her when she just walks by. I instantly freaked out because this means I didn't have to try to track her down! (kidding guys!)

So, I stopped her and begged her to sign my books which she did because she was such a sweetheart!

The first panel we went to was Kirsten Miller's and this was one of the ones I was most looking forward to throughout the festival because I LOVED The Eternal Ones!


Then after her panel we were off to Cassandra Clare! We were in a bit of a hurry to get there because there was already a line forming outside of the door, but we ended up getting pretty good seats.

Jackson Pearce dressed up as Magnus Bane which was pretty amazing because her costume was hilarious!
Cassandra then came out and read from City of Fallen Angels and then took the audience's questions.

After the signing we were taken outside to this little side tent to wait in the enourmous line for her signing. The line wrapped around the street, but it was completely worth it.


Me and Cassandra Clare! Who cares if I look dumb? It's Cassandra Clare!!

After the signing we went and ate at the Raging Burritto (who had great Queso dip) and then went back to the Old Courthouse for the Jackson Pearce, Michelle Zink, and Robin Benway signing. We got our times slightly mixed up but we arrived in enough time to witness them speaking and get our books signed!


Jackson Pearce, Michelle Zink, and Robin Benway!

Me and Robin Benway!


Michelle Zink! She was so sweet, she got up and gave me a hug and everything, plus she signed my books with nice notes!

Then the festival was sadly over, the end to one amazing weekend! I can't wait until next year and I find myself even more eager to find a way to get to BEA.

Here I am with Lori from Pure Imagination aka, my signing partner in crime!

Here are all of the books I got signed!


Here's the swag! Carrie Ryan was so sweet signing all of those bookmarks for us! We were still in line when she did it. Notice the stickers: Eat, PREY, Love. How amazing is that?!

So that was my amazing weekend. I loved meeting all of the awesome authors and bloggers and I can't wait to see you guys again at the next signing we all happen to attend!

-Christina

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Decatur Book Festival Recap Part 1

There are so many amazing things I could say about the Decatur Book Festival but I can sum it up in only one word for you.

Amazing.

It was amazing and it surpassed my expectations.

I had been planning to go to the Festival for a few months now and Saturday morning, at 5 it finally happened. We left at 5 in order to make it to the blogger/author breakfast at J.Christophers and when I arrived there I was greeted with a massive table. It was a bit weird at first because I only recognized a couple people, Lori from Pure Imagination, and Kelsey from Just Blinded Book Reviews but about ten minutes after I arrived guess who comes walking up to our table?

Carrie Ryan and Jackson Pearce.

I almost spazzed out. I didn't actually think there were going to be any authors there so when they walked up it was the equivalent of having Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter, he's my R. Pat) show up at my house.

Carrie Ryan and Jackson Pearce then sat down, Carrie Ryan sitting next to me (remember I'm already freaking out guys) and so I did the hug, OMG thing and then retained my cool.

There were so many amazing authors and bloggers at the breakfast. The authors included: Nancy Werlin, Jackson Pearce, Carrie Ryan, Mari Mancusi, Christina Gonzalez, Jennifer Jabaley, Liz Maverick, and new upcoming author, Michelle Hodkin.

Some of the bloggers that were in attendance were: Vania, Lori (book signing buddy/neighbor!), Kelsey, Jeremy & Jeffrey, JP, and Shalonda. I think that's everyone, if I'm missing you please let me know!

Here's some breakfast pictures!

Do you see that?! That's Carrie Ryan beside me! Me = green shirt

The breakfast table!

The authors!

Carrie Ryan and myself after breakfast! I look goofy... but it's Carrie Ryan!

Breakfast was awesome and it involved a lot of talking, laughing and bookmarks.

The first panel was David Levithan and Terra McVoy so after breakfast Kelsey and I went to go look around and prepare for the panel.

Davith Levithan is so funny and I definitely agree with Lori that it may have been my favorite panel. After David's reading from Will Grayson, Will Grayson, I was in awe of the writing and now find it to be one of my life goals to read that book.



Favorite David Levithan quote during the panel, about getting material:

"Remember to always take the Taylor Swift approach, for each ex boyfriend you have get at least five songs out of it."


The next panel was the fantasy panel with Saundra Mitchell, Jessica Verday, Cinda Williams Chima, and Kathleen Duey! I love fantasy and I was really looking forward to this panel and actually finding out what goes into the creating of entire worlds. Also, I was happy to hear the issue of maps come up during the panel as I have always heard the mark of a true fantasy is if it contains a map!

Saundra Mitchell!

The next panel was Carrie Ryan and Alyxandra Harvey's Vampires vs. Zombies panel and sadly we were late getting to it because the signing ran over. :(

What we did see was awesome though, especially Carrie discussing her research being playing Zombie video games and watching Dawn of the Dead! (I think it was Dawn of the Dead...)



The next and final panel of the day was the Real Issues in an Unreal World panel with Rachel Hawkins and Nancy Werlin! After this panel I really want to read Rachel Hawkins' book Hex Hall, if only to find out how to write a fan fic about the cat on the cover.


After that panel I was thoroughly exhausted and it was time for me to head back to the hotel and await the next day!

Part two of the Decatur Book Festival awesomeness will be up tomorrow and among tomorrow's authors are Kirsten Miller, and Cassandra Clare!



There was an error in this gadget
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the In the Castle and Story Book Castle by Lorie Davison