Follow by Email

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Get Your Finished Faces Ready!!


I finished my first semester of college!

Sorry for the lack of posts this last week but things were hectic with finals and everything so I just didn't have time, but I am DONE!

DONE!!
I feel like I can breathe again, but I am just so unbelievably happy.

I have missed all of you and I can't wait to be back in the swing of things.

:)

Friday, December 10, 2010

Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead



I don't think I can do a review for this book.

I have been thinking about it since completing it Wednesday and it's just too hard to put into words how I feel about the book, and specifically how the end of this series is making me feel.

On one hand, I love having an ending, but on the other I hate to see the series end. It's even different than Harry Potter because when I read the last Harry Potter I was so excited and I wasn't nearly as involved in the book world as I am now, so I just wanted the book, I never thought about the fact that it would be over. I was 15 and dumb.

This time though with my second favorite series I knew what was coming and I knew that this would be it.

Yes, there is a spin off and yes I think it will be amazing but still it won't be Rose, and that is what has me so messed up today.

Last Sacrifice as a book left me satisfied, more than satisfied really, but I don't know what I'm going to do now.

What will I do without Dimitri, Rose, Lissa, and Adrian?

I feel pathetic because I actually cried when I reached the end. This is just what books do to you I guess. I can't imagine not being a reader and not having this emotional pull to characters that feel more real to me than people I know in the real world.

I don't know how nonreaders make it through life without this.

Last Sacrifice is a great end to an even better series, I'm just sad to say goodbye.

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Book Blogger Hop & Follow Friday!!

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books!


This Week's Question:
What do you like most about reading book blogs?
My Answer:
Really for me it's not the guest posts or the reviews even, my favorite thing about book blogs and any blog in general is the person who runs it and seeing their personality come through in what they do. Just in the way they write reviews and do discussions, the books they like, how they portray their excitement. I like getting a sense of the person behind the blog. That's my favorite.


Follow Friday is hosted by the awesome Parajunkee at Parajunkee's" View

This Week's Question:
Do you have an undernoticed author you think we should all know about?

My Answer:
YES! Maria V. Snyder is a personal favorite of mine and I think she is amazing so you should definitely go read her. Her Study Series is one of my favorites. Also, Tara Altebrando's The Pursuit of Happiness was one of the first YA books I ever fell in love with. It's a must read.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday!


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and its purpose is to spotlight those titles we can't wait for!

Lexi is cursed with a dark secret. The water calls to her, draws her in, forces her to sing her deadly song to unsuspecting victims. If she succumbs, she kills. If she doesn’t, the pain is unbearable. To keep herself and those she cares about safe, she shuts herself off, refusing to make friends or fall in love—again. Because the last time she fell in love with a boy, he ended up dead.

Then Lexi meets Cole. Against her better judgment, she finds herself opening up again, falling in love when she knows she shouldn’t. But when she’s offered the chance to finally live a normal life, she learns that the price she must pay to be free of her curse is giving him up.

In Ripple, Mandy Hubbard spins a sea-ravaged tale of melancholy beauty, and the choices one girl makes between land and waves, love and freedom, her future—and her heart.

I'm so excited for this one! I love Mandy Hubbard and have been reading her since her days on Fiction Press, so I'm sure this one will be amazing!

What are you waiting on?

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

You'll Never Guess...


So, I have not spoken to all of you in two days! I just wanted to let you all know that I am currently 100 pages from finishing Last Sacrifice and then I shall resurface to all of you and humanity in general.
My friend and I went to four different places to find it at midnight last night, but it was so worth the sleep deprivation. I don't even mind I slept four hours last night.

I'll do a post about it and what not, but so far I am very, very happy.

Now to go back to reading.

:)

Sunday, December 5, 2010

In My Mailbox!

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi aka The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie!

This week I got...

I wasn't able to do an In My Mailbox last week so this is for the last two weeks. I'm excited to read everything, though sadly I have finals coming up. :(

Who else is going to go buy their copy of Last Sacrifice at midnight tomorrow?! There are few things I will risk school for but I NEED THAT BOOK. I'm so excited and I don't even care that I will be a creeper going in to get it, they're not even having a release party. *sigh*

Team Dimitri! I'm crossing my fingers. :)

What did you get this week?

Saturday, December 4, 2010

How Well Read Are You?

Apparently..."The BBC believes most people will have read only 6 of the 100 books listed here.

I am bolding the ones I have read.

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
•Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
Harry Potter series – JK Rowling
To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
The King James Bible
Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
•Nineteen Eighty Four (1984) – George Orwell
•His Dark Materials – Phillip Pullman
•Great Expectations– Charles Dickens
Little Women – Louisa M Alcott
•Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
•Catch 22 - Joseph Heller
Complete Works of Shakespeare (umm, I've read 3...)
•Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
•Birdsong – Sebastian Faulk
Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
•The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
•Middlemarch – George Eliot
Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell (LOVE!)
The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
•War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
•The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
•Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
•Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
•Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
•Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
•David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
Emma -Jane Austen
Persuasion – Jane Austen
The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe – CS Lewis
•The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
•Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
•Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
Winnie the Pooh – A.A. Milne
Animal Farm – George Orwell
•The DaVinci Code – Dan Brown
•One Hundred Years of Solitude - Gabriel Garcia Marquez
•A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
•The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery
•Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
•The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
•Lord of the Flies – William Golding
•Atonement – Ian McEwan
•Life of Pi – Yann Martel
•Dune – Frank Herbert
•Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
•A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
•The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
•A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
•Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
•The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon
•Love in The Time of Cholera - Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
•Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
•The Secret History – Donna Tartt
•The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
•Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
•On The Road – Jack Kerouac
•Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
•Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding
•Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
•Moby Dick - Herman Melville
•Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
•Dracula – Bram Stoker
•The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
•Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
•Ulysses – James Joyce
•The Inferno – Dante
•Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
•Germinal – Emile Zola
•Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
•Possession -AS Byatt
•Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
•Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
•The Color Purple – Alice Walker
•The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
•Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
•A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
Charlotte’s Web – E.B. White
•The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
•Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
•The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
•Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
•The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
•The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
•Watership Down – Richard Adams
•A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
•A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
•The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
Hamlet – William Shakespeare
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
•Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

Counting series books I have read 40! Yay! I'm in the process of reading more, I've gradually been going through my classics.

Take that BBC! (Though, I actually adore BBC, they make my favorite Jane Austen movies... plus they have Chef Ramsey).

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Book Blogger Hop & Follow Friday!!

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer at Crazy-for-Books!


This Week's Question:
What hyped about book did you not enjoy?

My Answer:
The first one to come to mind was Fallen by Lauren Kate, it just didn't work for me for whatever reason. There's not really many though that I haven't enjoyed, I am a reader who is very easily pleased. I didn't necessarily enjoy writing my review for Fallen but I was honest. We just weren't meant to be book friends.


Follow Friday is hosted by the awesome Parajunkee at Parajunkee's" View

This Week's Question:
What do you do besides reading/reviewing as a hobby?

My Answer:
Great question! It's almost hard for me to think of a hobby I do outside of reading and blogging honestly... because that's really the main thing I do in my spare time. I guess when I'm not blogging I'm writing, crocheting, or doing something with friends. My biggest hobby is still definitly reading though, I get grumpy if I don't get reading time. I actually give up quite a bit of sleep to guarantee I have my reading time. :)

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, and its purpose is to spotlight those titles we can't wait for!


This is Agnes Wilkins’ debut season and already she’s attracting the attention of one of England’s most eligible and desirable men: Lord Showalter. He’s been quite forward about his intentions and Agnes finds this at once thrilling and terrifying. He is handsome and wealthy and has this quirky interest in helping England amass the world’s finest collection of Egyptian artifacts. It could be a good match—but everything Agnes knows about courtship and high society romance comes from A. Lady novels, and it seems to be a rule that men who are too good to be true are usually hiding something.

But, what Showalter is hiding is not crumbling finances or boarish behavior. He is deceiving the whole British Empire. He is spy working for Napoleon, his orders smuggled into London in Egyptian artifacts—like the one Agnes pockets while at a mummy unwrapping party at Showalter’s home. Her innocent interest in this trinket (and childish need to keep it) jump starts a chain of events that bring out dangerous characters, dangerous circumstances, and the biggest danger of all—true love.


I think this book sounds amazing! It sounds like a regency and if you know me at all you know I adore regency themed things! So excited!

What are you waiting on this week?

There was an error in this gadget
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the In the Castle and Story Book Castle by Lorie Davison