Follow by Email

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday!

 Waiting on Wednesday is hosted at Breaking the Spine

The Miniaturist
Realease Date: August 26, 2014

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam-a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion-a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed…"

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office-leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist-an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand-and fear-the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

This one looks amazing and just look at that cover!!

What are you guys waiting on?

4 comments:

Little Miss Becky said...

What a gorgeous cover!! It sounds like a great story, too!

Nemo Rosa said...

I'm crossing my fingers and hoping i cant get an ARC of this cause it just sounds great :)

Nemo @ Blame it on the book

Jillian said...

Oohh wow, sounds good! I love that cover and I do love my seventeenth century European set stories.

Micheline D said...

I've read some wonderful early reviews about this one so it's already on my wishlist/tbr shelf! I hope you get your hands on it soon and that you love it too :D Wonderful pick ^^

Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews

Post a Comment

There was an error in this gadget
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the In the Castle and Story Book Castle by Lorie Davison