Follow by Email

Saturday, August 29, 2015

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews!

For Review: 


What's the difference between puppy love and dogged devotion?

When Sara Renault fired Rory O'Connor from his part-time job at a Boston art museum, and in response, Rory—Irishman, actor, musician, reformed party-boy— impulsively leaned over and kissed her . . . she kissed him back. Now, as Rory's visa runs out on the cusp of his big Hollywood break, Sara insists that he marry her to get a green card. In a matter of weeks they've gone from being friendly work colleagues to a live-in couple, and it's all grand . . . except for Cody, Sara's beloved dog from her troubled previous relationship. Sara's overattachment to her dog is the only thing she and Rory fight about.

When Rory scores both his green card and the lead role in an upcoming TV pilot, he and Sara (and Cody) prepare to move to Los Angeles. But just before their departure, Cody is kidnapped—and it is entirely Rory's fault. Desperate to get back into Sara's good graces, Rory tracks Cody and the sociopathic dognapper to North Carolina. Can Rory rescue Cody and convince Sara that they belong together—with Cody—as a family? First they'll need to survive a madcap adventure that takes them through the heart of America.

Thanks to HarperCollins for this one! 
I've been trying to focus on reading and catching up on my TBR pile this week... so hopefully September won't be as scary as I'm expecting. 

What stacked your shelves this week? 

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Feature and Follow Friday



Feature and Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read

The wonderful Alison and Parajunkee picked me this week to be one of the featured blogs on Follow Friday! 

Of course, this fills me with joy - so let's get the party started! 

My Questions and Answers! 

When did you start blogging? 
I actually started blogging back in 2009 which seems crazy now! I took a break while beginning college but am now back to the blogosphere I’d missed so much. It doesn’t feel like I started blogging seven years ago, but time flies when you’re having fun. 

What is your favorite part of book blogging?
I really enjoy being able to keep up with the book-ish world. I love knowing what books are coming out, and being able to talk about something that I love. I love the fact that I need a planner JUST for my blog schedule and reading schedule. I feel very thankful to receive emails from real publicists who care what I say. It is insane and I am so, so grateful. 

What type of books do you mainly blog about?
I love all things YA, particularly fantasy, contemporary, and historical fiction. I also enjoy books with crossover appeal - especially if they involve epic adventures or furry four legged friends. 

What are your favorite books?
The Truth About Forever, The Study Series, The Sin Eater’s Daughter, 17 First Kisses, Going Too Far, Harry Potter, Snow Like Ashes, Lord of the Rings, etc… I’m an English major so I also have a soft spot for classics and poetry. I often cry reading Tennyson in my spare time. 

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?
The relationship that I have built with publishers and other bloggers has been fantastic, but there are many things I look back on and can’t believe have happened.  I have had breakfast with best selling authors, and have met more authors than I ever thought I would at festivals and signings, etc..  I met Stephanie Meyer before there was a movie! 

Honestly though, book blogging is all about the community and all about the people you meet physically and virtually. When you write a review and have the author contact you with thanks it feels great, and when you’re able to help other bloggers it is a wonderful feeling. Blogging is just the best. 

This Week's Question... 

Share a random quote from a book you are currently reading!
I am reading On Writing by Stephen King (again!) for a writing class, and a wonderful quote from that book is... 

"The road to Hell is paved with adverbs." 

Which is just true. 

Don't forget to add your link, and let me know if you're hopping by! 


 



A Conversation with Noelle August [Author Interview]

I am happy to welcome to the blog today the authors of my favorite New Adult series, Boomerang! Noelle August, (Veronica Rossi and Lorin Oberweger) have stopped by the blog to share some insight. 

Bounce, the final installment to Boomerang is out this week! 

Let's Begin! 



1.) What are your perfect writing conditions?

            V: I love this question. It makes me happy just thinking about my reply. Okay, for me, the perfect conditions for writing involve: comfortable clothes, a desk with a window facing inclement weather (rain, snow, or even just gray clouds) and some form of view (mountains or beaches are my favorites.) I would have hot tea by my desk, and my dog at my feet. I'd have no interruptions, plenty of inspiration, and a comfortable bed to dive into when I'm exhausted and satisfied with the day's work. Now. Can you please arrange this for me?

            L: I like to write in my bed, with a million pillows around me, but the bed in otherwise placid, unrumpled condition. My energy levels hit Code Sloth when it’s rainy or cloudy, so I love it to be sunny, to have the windows open so sounds of squirrels and leaves rustling, and my fairly busy urban-ish neighborhood can drift in and provide some background noise. A slowly dripping caffeine IV would be most appreciated, as would a looming deadline and a waiting check. Those are highly motivating factors!

2.) What changes about the writing process when collaborating and co-authoring a project like the Boomerang series? 

            V: Well, a number of things. We're working together, so we can rely on each other to puzzle out plots, or deepen character arcs. I personally have loved this aspect of working with Lorin. In addition to being a great writer, she's a superlative editor, so I've learned a lot from working closely with her. On the flip side, there are the practical considerations of us syncing up our busy work schedules. We had some challenges there, but we made it work!

            L: Aw, thanks, V! I feel just the same. One of the interesting elements, for me, was the slight shift in dynamic from editor to collaborator, the way one’s ownership of a project transforms with that different title. Some of the real positives, in addition to having two minds at work for plot points and character discovery, was this feeling of being surprised and delighted by what I’d discover on the page from Veronica. It was kind of the best part of writing AND the best part of reading at the same time.

3.) What is one of your most embarrassing moments? 

V: I'm just going to say what comes to mind first: once, when I was waiting for my coffee at Starbucks, I took a sample of brownie that had been left on the bar and ate it--AND ONLY THEN realized it was someone's used plate, which they had left there. That was fun! I couldn't leave, either. I had to just stand there and laugh it off until my coffee was ready.

L: That actually made me LOL, reading that, V. Something I didn’t know!  As for me, once on a family trip to Israel when I was eighteen or nineteen, I went to flop down on a deck chair near a pool. Which I did. But I also fell over backward. And the chair also closed up around me, so my legs were trapped pretty much somewhere around my ears. And it’s possible other things happened, involving bodily noises, but I like to leave that part to my siblings to break out at parties and other events. Suffice to say, I felt super smooth.

V: That is awesome. We’re a smooth pair, obviously.

4.) How do you deal with writer’s block?

V: Yes, Lorin. How? No really. Tell me now. (Says the writer with terrible writer's block at the moment!) Kidding aside, I usually take a break, or try to write through it. Those are my two tactics.

L:  Honestly, I think most writer’s block is really, “I have no idea where I’m going with this” block, and it hits more pantsers than plotters. BUT, I also think it’s possible to reach a point where one’s just burned out on the writing (or any other work), and our bodies and minds force us to take a break.

Usually, I recommend a couple of things: First, I think it’s important to bear in mind that the way one FEELS while writing generally has no relation to the QUALITY of the writing, even though it feels so much like it does at the time. Divorcing oneself from the notion of having to be “in the zone” or “in flow” can be helpful. Sometimes, it’s about gritting your teeth through a scene you know you have to take from point A to point B, and that’s it.

Secondly, it can be a great idea to actually FORBID yourself from writing for a period of time but make a commitment to experience other forms of art. Tell yourself that you’ll do something in an unrelated discipline every day for “X” days. Listen to music, see shows, go to museums, browse galleries, watch someone make glass unicorns, play with an instrument, put your hands in clay, sew, dance—try any and all of it. That helps get other synapses firing and can stir the creative juices in a way that feels less complicated and fraught, which can then open the door for a return to writing work.

5.) When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

V: I think I officially knew twelve years ago, on the very first day I sat down to write a story. Prior to that, I was an avid reader, and an artist. I used to fill sketchbook after sketchbook. Now I fill journals. The desire to write was always inside me, but that first day was when it hooked me.

L: I’m one of those people who pretty much always knew. I literally have a memory of this moment where the squiggles in “One Fish, Two Fish” resolved into the actual words being read to me, and the magic of that hooked me for life.

6.) I love how the world of Boomerang is so connected, what character(s) do you most relate with?

V: I think I might relate to Cookie the most. Or maybe I just want one ounce of her self-confidence.

L: I do NOT see you as a Cookie, except for the fierce loyalty. I think I’m sort of half-Mia, half-Grey, weirdly enough. Well, maybe more of a 65/35 ration. J

7.) If you could describe Bounce in one word, what would it be? 

V: Passionate

L: Musical

8.) What is your advice for aspiring writers? 

V: Read, write, repeat!

L: Amen. I’d add that you can shave off a lot of painful years by truly understanding scene structure and deep point of view. Also, find great workshops, great craft books, and learn the joys of down-to-the-bone editing and reconstruction of a work. The best writers I know are deep revisers.

Thanks so much for having us!

--Thank you so much for agreeing to be here! 

Be sure to check out my reviews for the first two installments Boomerang and Rebound! My review for Bounce will be posted very soon. 

NOELLE AUGUST is an anagram for Veronica Rossi and Lorin Oberweger. Just kidding, it’s a pen name!

VERONICA ROSSI is the author of the New York Times Best-selling UNDER THE NEVER SKY trilogy for young adults. The books are available in more than thirty countries and the film rights have been optioned by Warner Bros.

Veronica completed undergraduate studies at UCLA and lives in Northern California with her husband and two sons. She is fond of dresses with pockets, fluffy dogs, and cheese and chocolate — but not together.

LORIN OBERWEGER began her storytelling career by captivating her first-grade class with tales of her summers on a kibbutz in Israel.

Lorin had never been to Israel.
While teacher/parent night put an end to her first experiments in fiction, she’d already caught the bug and eventually made a career of all things story.
As a long-time independent editor and story development guru, Lorin’s client successes range from small press publications to major bestselling novels. She’s an award-winning author and has also worked behind the scenes as a ghostwriter on a variety of projects. Her work has received starred Kirkus reviews and glowing mentions in The New York Times.
Oh, she did get to see a kibbutz, eventually, and found out she had it pretty much right all along.
Veronica and Lorin met at a writing workshop and just knew they were destined to create awesome things together.

**The above is found on Noelle August's website. 




Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine


Just read this synopsis and tell me how excited you are! 

Release Date: February 9, 2016


Blackbeard the pirate was known for striking fear in the hearts of the bravest of sailors. But once he was just a young man who dreamed of leaving his rigid life behind to chase adventure in faraway lands. Nothing could stop him—until he met the one girl who would change everything. This is their story.
Edward "Teach" Drummond, son of one of Bristol's richest merchants, has just returned from a year-long journey on the high seas to find his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesn’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, Teach dreams only of returning to the vast ocean he’d begun to call home. There's just one problem: convincing his father to let him leave and never come back.
Following her parents' deaths, Anne Barrett is left penniless and soon to be homeless. Though she’s barely worked a day in her life, Anne is forced to take a job as a maid in the home of Master Drummond. Lonely days stretch into weeks, and Anne longs for escape. How will she ever realize her dream of sailing to Curaçao—where her mother was born—when she's stuck in England? 
From the moment Teach and Anne meet, they set the world ablaze. Drawn to each other, they’re trapped by society and their own circumstances. Faced with an impossible choice, they must decide to chase their dreams and go, or follow their hearts and stay.

I know, right?!  

This one looks oh so promising, I can hardly contain the excitement! 

What are you waiting for this week? 

Top Ten Tuesday - YA Fantasy 101 Syllabus


Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish

I know this is coming a wee bit late, but this is one subject I can get behind! 

Here is what would be on my YA Fantasy Syllabus... 


Beginning with: 

Early Young Adult Fiction


Transitioning to... 

Mid-Century Young Adult



1980's to 2000's.. 


Late 1990's-Present day


Harry Potter (because you can't not have Harry Potter...) 


And..


All of these books I have loved immensely and I feel like they all have different bits of wonderful to add to a classroom. 

What is on your syllabus? 










Saturday, August 22, 2015

Stacking the Shelves!




Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews


This week I got quite the mixture! It is clear that me efforts to not become a book hoarder are failing miserable. I couldn't be happier! 

For Reveiw: 

The Vanishing Island
Does the Vanishing Island really exist? And if so, what treasure—or terrible secret—was hidden by its disappearance?
It’s 1599, the Age of Discovery in Europe. But for Bren Owen, growing up in the small town of Map on the coast of Britannia has meant anything but adventure. Enticed by the tales sailors have brought through Map’s port, and inspired by the arcane maps his father creates as a cartographer for the cruel and charismatic map mogul named Rand McNally, Bren is convinced that fame and fortune await him elsewhere. That is, until his repeated attempts to run away land him a punishment worse than death—cleaning up the town vomitorium.
It is there that Bren meets a dying sailor, who gives him a strange gift that hides a hidden message. Cracking the code could lead Bren to a fabled lost treasure that could change his life forever, and that of his widowed father. But to get there he will have to tie his fate to a mysterious Dutch admiral obsessed with a Chinese legend about an island that long ago disappeared from any map.
Before long, Bren is in greater danger than he ever imagined, and will need the help of an unusual friend named Mouse to survive. Barry Wolverton’s thrilling adventure spans oceans and cultures, brings together the folklore of East and West, and proves that fortune is always a double-edged sword.

I may have to do a couple weeks dedicated to Middle Grade to talk about all the awesome looking Middle Grades I have received recently.

Escaping Perfect
This one came unsolicited, but I love a fantasy filled Middle Grade! I may have to dedicate some time to all of the fantastic Middle Grade books I've received recently and do a couple weeks on them alone.
Gone Girl meets the TV show Nashville in this sultry summer read about a girl who runs away from her high-profile past to live the normal life she’s always wanted.
Cecilia Montgomery has been America’s sweetheart since the day she was born. A member of the prestigious Montgomery family—the US equivalent of royalty—her childhood was cut short after she was nearly kidnapped. Since then, Cecilia has been hidden away, her adolescence spent at an exclusive boarding school.
Her dreams of becoming a professional violinist—dashed.
Her desire to be a normal teenager—not possible.


This one I received from Edelweiss after requesting and it looks so good! It isn't due out until March 2016, but from the way it sounds it should be worth the wait! 

Bought: 

It's been several generations since a genetic experiment gone wrong caused the Reduction, decimating humanity and giving rise to a Luddite nobility who outlawed most technology.
Elliot North has always known her place in this world. Four years ago Elliot refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart, the servant Kai, choosing duty to her family's estate over love. Since then the world has changed: a new class of Post-Reductionists is jumpstarting the wheel of progress, and Elliot's estate is foundering, forcing her to rent land to the mysterious Cloud Fleet, a group of shipbuilders that includes renowned explorer Captain Malakai Wentforth--an almost unrecognizable Kai. And while Elliot wonders if this could be their second chance, Kai seems determined to show Elliot exactly what she gave up when she let him go.
But Elliot soon discovers her old friend carries a secret--one that could change their society . . . or bring it to its knees. And again, she's faced with a choice: cling to what she's been raised to believe, or cast her lot with the only boy she's ever loved, even if she's lost him forever.
Inspired by Jane Austen's PersuasionFor Darkness Shows the Stars is a breathtaking romance about opening your mind to the future and your heart to the one person you know can break it. 

How did I miss this one when it came out?! I love Persuasion, it is my favorite Austen and I am so happy to see a futuristic version (especially since it was on sale for $1.99!) 

What stacked your shelves this week? 

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Follow Friday!


Feature and Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read

This week's question... 

If you could have any pet in the world, what would it be? 

I am a huge animal lover, so really I would just choose to have all of them. I really have dreams of opening up an animal sanctuary and having a safe place for all animals in need... though I know that it is easier said than done. 

I currently have two cats, two rabbits, and a dog that I adore, but if another showed up on my door step I would take them in a heart beat. I actually have issues with not accepting more when I see poor animals who need homes. 

I love animals as much as books... but animals take up even more room! 

If I had to pick a fantastic animal, I would go with a big cat - perhaps a tiger? I would love to have a nice tame tiger friend. 

What about you guys? 

Let me know if you stop by - especially if you follow! 



Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid [Book Review]

Title: Never Always Sometimes
Author: Adi Alsaid
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Source: From Publisher for honest review.
Release Date: August 4, 2015

Never date your best friend.
Always be original.
Sometimes rules are meant to be broken.
Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never, ever do in high school. 
Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never dye your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he’s broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It’s either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember. 
Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the clichés, they’ve actually been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love.
This book was the classic well told story with twists, turns, and emotions that never stopped coming! This was my first time reading this author having missed the bandwagon for his debut LETS GET LOST I'm glad I finally get to see what everyone was talking about because there are many great things to be said about this story.

The writing style is fantastic. Really, I was hooked from the beginning of Dave's Story and instantly felt drawn into his world.

The book is split into multiple sections: Dave's Story, Julia's Story, and then both of them combined. I liked that the views were split up because it was easy to follow, but I still feel like Dave was the main character throughout the book and that it is ultimately his story. I loved the male protagonist and Dave's point of view... most of the time.

The concept of completing an "Never List" at the end of high school was original, and I enjoyed the steps Dave and Julia took towards their experiences. They wanted to miss nothing, but also they didn't want to lose their spirit or change. Unfortunately changing is impossible, and they find this out.

Dave was easy to relate to as his pining and unrequited love is an emotion we all know and it felt extremely human. Gretchen was a good experience for him and I enjoyed Gretchen's role in the story... most of the time. There were times when I was confused and I felt like they made it particularly difficult on themselves all the time.

Julia took me longer to understand. The things she did often didn't make sense to me, and I felt the urge to virtually slap her on more than one occasion. I liked her though and felt her and David's relationship was nice, easy, and it made sense to me.

I really loved this book and I appreciate what the author did in his choices for the storyline, though I was a bit taken back by the ending. It took me by surprise and in some ways I felt cheated... but then again I think that may have been the point.

Overall: I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an original take on a classic premise. Definitely recommending for anyone who is looking for a good contemporary.


Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine

This one looks AMAZING! I'm super excited to see all the adventures this gal gets into.


Release Date: March 29,2016

Gone Girl meets the TV show Nashville in this sultry summer read about a girl who runs away from her high-profile past to live the normal life she’s always wanted.
Cecilia Montgomery has been America’s sweetheart since the day she was born. A member of the prestigious Montgomery family—the US equivalent of royalty—her childhood was cut short after she was nearly kidnapped. Since then, Cecilia has been hidden away, her adolescence spent at an exclusive boarding school.
Her dreams of becoming a professional violinist—dashed.
Her desire to be a normal teenager—not possible.
Her relationship with her once-loving parents—bitter and strained.
Nothing about Cecilia’s life is what she would have planned for herself. So when an opportune moment presents itself, Cecilia seizes the chance to become someone else. To escape. To disappear. To have the life she always dreamed about, far away from her mother’s biting remarks and her sheltered upbringing.
Cecilia says goodbye to the Montgomery name and legacy to become Lia Washington: relaxed, wild, in love, free, and living on her own terms for the very first time. But being on your own isn’t always as easy as it seems…

What are you guys waiting for this week?  

Monday, August 17, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: My Auto-Buy Authors!



Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

I feel like this is very similar to the favorite authors post for me -- so there may not be any suprises here! I included newer authors who have "hooked" me recently as well to mix it up. 



1. Sarah Dessen - We all know why. She is amazing and is essentially the standard by which I judge everything by. 

2. Sara Raasch - FANTASY! I loved Snow Like Ashes, and Ice Like Fire is looking good. Raasch impressed me so much with her debut that I'm pretty sure I will be buying her stuff for awhile. 


3. John Green- I have odd emotions about John Green. I love his internet personality and Nerdfighteria, but everyone loves his books to an insane degree. I'm not one of those people... but I do auto buy him for sure. 

4. Rachel Hartman - This is another fantasy that blew my mind! So wonderful to see so many authors getting it right. This is another that I am eagerly awaiting everything they ever write ever. 


5. Jennifer Echols - I LOVE her contemporaries and have been buying them all since Going Too Far came out. 

6. Kody Keplinger - I was obsessed with The Duff when if first came out. I got my hands on an ARC and I told everyone I knew about it for months. She has been on my watch list ever since. 

And... 


7. J.K. Rowling - Her writing is still as close to perfect as I have witnessed. It has been 10+ years since I first read Harry Potter and still if I start it I can't stop. I will buy everything she writes always and forever. 




Saturday, August 15, 2015

Stacking the Shelves!


Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews

This week I got quite the mixture! Proof that I love Kid Lit and adult stuff at the same time. 

For Review: 


A stunning debut novel of historical fiction set in the forgotten world of New York City's Jewish orphanages
In 1919, four-year-old Rachel Rabinowitz is placed in the Hebrew Infant Home where Dr. Mildred Solomon is conducting medical research on the children. Dr. Solomon subjects Rachel to an experimental course of X-ray treatments that establish the doctor's reputation while risking the little girl's health. Now it's 1954, and Rachel is a nurse in the hospice wing of the Old Hebrews Home when elderly Dr. Solomon becomes her patient. Realizing the power she holds over the helpless doctor, Rachel embarks on a dangerous experiment of her own design. Before the night shift ends, Rachel will be forced to choose between forgiveness and revenge.
Inspired by true events, Orphan #8 is a powerful novel about the human capacity to harm—and to love.
Bought: 


Ivan is an easygoing gorilla. Living at the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade, he has grown accustomed to humans watching him through the glass walls of his domain. He rarely misses his life in the jungle. In fact, he hardly ever thinks about it at all.
Instead, Ivan thinks about TV shows he’s seen and about his friends Stella, an elderly elephant, and Bob, a stray dog. But mostly Ivan thinks about art and how to capture the taste of a mango or the sound of leaves with color and a well-placed line.
Then he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from her family, and she makes Ivan see their home—and his own art—through new eyes. When Ruby arrives, change comes with her, and it’s up to Ivan to make it a change for the better.
Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create Ivan’s unforgettable first-person narration in a story of friendship, art, and hope.
What stacked your shelves this week? 

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Follow Friday!


Feature and Follow Friday is hosted by Prajunkee and Alison Can Read


This week's question: 
If you could have unlimited food what would it be? 
The Answer: 
Definitely pasta, because I like to make bad decisions. Seriously though, you can put anything with pasta and I would be game.  

Let me know if you're hopping by! 

(especially if you follow :])

Blogger Recognition Award!

I was nominated by Bogdana the Booknerd for the Blogger Recognition Award!


Rules:
v  Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.

v  Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you've nominated in the post. 
o   Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).


  1. v  Comment on each blog and let them know you've nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.

  2. v  Provide a link to the original post on Edge of NightEdge of NightThat way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!


My Story: 


            I started this blog back in 2009 which just seems crazy now. I wasn't familiar with the blogosphere, but I had no friends who loved the books I loved... so I started talking about books I loved online. Little did I know that people actually DID THIS. People were into talking about books and I was not alone. Since then blogging has been a wonderful escape from the bookless world and people (ha!) around me. Blogging has been with me through high school, college, jobs... it is the constant. Which is nice. Books are my Life, and I'm just trying to talk about that. 

      I was shocked when publishing houses cared what I had to say, and it is forever one of my favorite things. I feel so lucky everyday to wake up to emails about books, and be able to talk about books as much as I want. 

My Advice: 

          Through the years I have seen some pretty big bloggers go, so my advice would be to not worry about how others see your blog. 

           I know that sounds cliche, but seriously, this is YOUR blog with YOUR thoughts so make them your own. Who cares if so and so got that book you were dreaming of. I know blogger jealousy, I have felt blogger jealousy, but don't let it make you into something you're not.

           I accepted a long time ago that I can't post daily. It doesn't work with my life style and it stresses me out to think about it in a negative light. I CAN however post four or five times a week, this keeps me from stressing. Don't be afraid to write about things that aren't books. Talk about nails if you want, or travel, or that horrible day you had last week. Don't limit yourself to fit into a box that isn't real. 

           Accept that you may be a tiny voice in a sea of loud yells. Don't worry though - someone WILL hear you. 

Six years and I am still a tiny voice, but I'm cool with it. 

I nominate...

Everyone. 

Seriously. All of you deserve recognition, so wear your badge proudly and use your tiny voice for good. 



There was an error in this gadget
 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the In the Castle and Story Book Castle by Lorie Davison